Absolver Review

Just how violent is Absolver?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

It's a fighting game but there is no blood and the art style and animations don't put focus on the violence. So it's not as violent as Street Fighter or Tekken. There are no finishing moves or grabbing moves either, so I'd say it's as non-violent as a fighting game can get.

avatar

You

Now

How imaginative is the Absolver lore?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

Every aspect of the game is heavily inspired by Dark Souls. Exploring the world is the main way to get to know about the lore, there are only few NPCs and they won't talk much. So the lore is as imaginative as you are?

avatar

You

Now

How well does Absolver let you develop your character?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

There seems to be tons of armor and clothing to be collected, so the visual customization is pretty nice. But the actual game is pretty much about customizing your fighting style by selecting which moves to have and how they progress. Oh boy, you can spend A LOT of time tweaking that. Since you collect moves from fighting enemies, I'd say developing your character is one of the main things in the game.

avatar

You

Now

How entertaining are fights in Absolver?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

Very. You made your combos and chose your moves yourself, now you need to win with it. The fights are beautiful too. One issue I have with them is that very often you are fighting against multiple enemies, two is very manageable but three feels unfair and makes me hope another players shows up. And do not be mistaken, this is inspired by Dark Souls and every enemy is capable of killing you. Entertaining yes, relaxing and casual? No.

avatar

You

Now

How grindy is PvE in Absolver?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

You could say there is some grind. You collect new moves by fighting against those moves. You won't get them from one fight. When you die though you respawn and likely many of the mobs have respawned too (not a certainty). So there is something I'd call natural grind when you explore the world and try to find the bosses. So far I have not felt that I'm grinding and I've almost completed the first set of bosses the game asks you to deal with. I'm fairly sure the "Story" ends soon after that.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Absolver sale?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

Selling at 30 euros, the game is well worth it's "full" price.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Absolver?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

The game is more about art style than realism. Graphics are rather low-fi but the game does look gorgeous in motion.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Absolver?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

The fight sounds are good but otherwise the game goes for the "less is more" approach. It won't bombard you with music or environmental sounds. The few NPC lines there are aren't voiced.

avatar

You

Now

How does Absolver run on your PC?

avatar
61
Jnx

77 days ago

i7-2600k and GTX1060. Runs flawlessly.

avatar

You

Now
Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions