Diablo 3’s retro Darkening of Tristram event returns next week | PCGamesN

Diablo 3’s retro Darkening of Tristram event returns next week

Subscribe to PCGamesN on YouTube

This hasn’t been the kindest year for Diablo fans. Blizzard promised there would be no announcements related to the franchise at BlizzCon, and in that regard at least no one was disappointed. There was, at least, the Necromancer, but it still feels like we’re due for something more substantial. Maybe a Diablo 4? Well, how about a chance to return to Diablo 1 again?

Maybe someday we'll get to add a new Diablo to our list of upcoming PC games.

The Darkening of Tristram event returns on January 1 at 0:00 PST / 3:00 EST / 8:00 GMT, letting you celebrate Diablo’s 21st anniversary in retro appropriate style. Take a portal into Tristram’s past, enjoy a pixelated visual filter, and delve deep into the catacombs to relive the conflict against Diablo himself. Plus loot! “Completing activities in the anniversary event yields unique transmogrification effects, achievements, portraits, pets, and more.”

If that all sounds familiar, it’s because that’s pretty much the exact same setup that defined last year’s version of the event. Blizzard haven’t explicitly said there’ll be no new additions to this year’s version, but the fact that no new stuff has been announced would certainly lead you to believe there will, in fact, not be new things.

Darkening of Tristram was a fun but disappointingly brief  adventure last year, but we’re so Diablo-starved at this point that even the tiniest morsel is appreciated. Enjoy it while it lasts, because the event will come to a close January 30.

GOTW
Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
PCGameKomrad avatarBen Barrett avatar
PCGameKomrad Avatar
1
6 Months ago

I haven't played Diablo 3. If I buy the game for PC on Jan 1, can I play the Darkening of Tristam right away as my first time playing Diablo 3?

1
Ben Barrett Avatar
520
6 Months ago

As far as I know, yes.

1