Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition Review

Does Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition reward strategic planning?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Yes, more than any other game I have ever played.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

702 days ago

It is the only way to play.

Basil Fawlty (after 2 days 2 hours play time)

412 days ago

Very satisfyingly

383
Rock1m1 (after 3 days 13 hours play time)

287 days ago

You can't brute force your way win battles. And majority of the time and enemies are at the same level as you are, evening the field, forcing you to use your wits more than your firepower to win the battles. The game encourages players to think outside the design box and be as creative as they want to be.

avatar

You

Now

Does Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition allow for a good range of character builds?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Yes. There is a tremendous amount of customization available, and if you're good, just about any combination can work, though in different cases different builds will be easier or harder to win a particular fight with.

383
Rock1m1 (after 3 days 13 hours play time)

287 days ago

Divinity Original Sin prefers that you have a well-rounded team over being good at a single area. This is because enemies you face are so diverse, you really need to cover all your base in order to progress properly.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

702 days ago

Yes you can make you character how you like it.

avatar

You

Now

How much flexibility do you have in Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition to choose your party?

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

702 days ago

You have a lot of choice for your 2 starting characters. They can be just about anything. As for the other 2 the first town has 3 different followers you can get.

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Complete customization for the first two, the remaining two can be any of four in the first city or hired from an insane list of henchmen later on.

avatar

You

Now

How much choice do you have in Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Choice is supreme here. I play games for the options they give me, and this one gives me the most, with the only exception being tabletop RPGs. Even then, D:OS EE gives me almost as much choice as D&D 5E, and more in the spots where I really care about it most. It is only definitively exceeded by D&D v3.5.

avatar

You

Now

How does Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition make you feel powerful?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

If I can think through a situation, any situation, I can win. In D:OS, your mind is your greatest weapon, and it's entirely possible to use convoluted strategies to win battles that, based on stats alone, should be well beyond you. The freedom of choice also makes me feel powerful, such as one case where my solution to a quest goth the optimal outcome, but the journal entries I got showed that it was something the devs had not expected people to do, as I got two that seemed to be intended to be mutually exclusive quest outcomes. There is no better feeling to me than coming up with unexpected tactics in a game like this and having them work even though they were very obviously not specifically intended to.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition to explore?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Very open if you're good with your tactics against enemies higher level than you or late-game. The enemies are not levelled, so if you go the wrong direction from the first city that acts as a hub for the first zone, you'd better be extremely inventive about your tactics in order to win. It can, however, be done.

avatar

You

Now

Does Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition feel grindy?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Not at all. Everything you do ties into the world and the story in some way, and in no way are the quests repetitive. You get a massive variety of quests and a substantial number of options for how to complete them. Furthermore, level grinding is not a thing, because enemies don't respawn, so you never have any incentive to try that. You actually can't.

avatar

You

Now

How imaginative is the Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition lore?

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

702 days ago

It is your standard fantasy setting

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

A large number of standard fantasy tropes combined in an unusual way is how I'd put it. If you look at each piece individually, it seems bog-standard, but if you look at the whole setting, it actually has a number of things you wouldn't generally expect to see together.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition story?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

As before, standard fantasy tropes combined in a very odd and unique way. Again, looking at individual cogs, it doesn't seem to stand out, but the machine in its entirety does.

avatar

You

Now

How does Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition run on your PC?

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

702 days ago

Very well, no problems so far.

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Excellently in general. I don't have a very good PC, in fact it's just a consumer-grade PC with a few parts swapped out/upgraded. Even so, I've found very few major problems. Sometimes I get serious lag spikes when the game has to process too many effects of a single spell I cast all at once, but since combat is turn-based, that's not a problem at all.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

It's amazing. The soundtrack is by the tragically late Kirill Pokrovsky, like all the previous games in the series, and is a true work of art. Some of the voice lines, however, may make you not want to stay standing in certain places for too long, as they are frequently repeated and frequently cheesy. Still, Larian's version of cheesy is good in small doses.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition?

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

Quite good, though admittedly, graphics are so unimportant to me that 'dated graphics' means something like TES II Daggerfall and 'bad graphics' means really terrible art style. Still, much more impressive than you might expect, and I'd argue that the art style makes them on par with unmodded Skyrim.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers keep coming back to Divinity: Original Sin - Enhanced Edition

Jemolk (after 7 days 8 hours play time)

391 days ago

The available choices, the options, being able to do things my way. For me, there is nothing better. Beyond that, it's a game where thinking through your decisions and strategies is heavily rewarded and can mean the difference between breezing through a fight and getting utterly crushed. I very much approve of that, and no game really does it better. Except maybe D:OS2, which I just bought on GOG and expect to love.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions