Fallout 4 Review

Is Fallout 4 grindy?

192
Silentius (after 15 hours play time)

772 days ago

It depends on how you approach the game. If you're into crafting in a big way then you might have to do a bit of grind-work to collect the requisite bits and pieces required for your creations. As for the missions themselves, there is a bit of a 'go to place... kill everything there... rinse... repeat' element to them. However, Bethesda have shaken up their formula just enough that the game doesn't feel too stayed.

214

752 days ago

After over 30 hours of playtime and an equal number of levels I realized I had made no actual progress - the constant micromanagement that is the minuteman faction was holding me back from actually playing the game. A new character and I left the minutemen trapped in their little hole and focusing on the main story, finally reached diamond city. a lot more fun was had as I steadily ignored all the junk I had previously obsessively collected, and without it weighing me down (literally) I felt freed to actually explore and make progress without the constant need to return to 'home' near-hourly. The story was finished and I feel rather numb about it all, it had potential but I felt like too much an impotent puppet for it to be really made the most of.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

No. However, each faction in the game offers "grind quests" that can be used to continue a character's leveling path.

All of the side quests (outside of the main story) feel fresh and unique, and almost every location in the game has some element of freshness, which keeps the game compelling long after the main story is over.

DarkfireTS (after 2 days 8 hours play time)

549 days ago

Versatile in the sense that, if you want a resource-management game with a strategy / base-buildup aspect, you can do that, or if you want to lone-wolf it and just shoot your way through, you can do that too. Great graphics, the DLC is really good and well-compiled from a visual, audio and story aspect (case in point = Far Harbour). Love it!

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

Fallout 4 isn't grindy in the typical manner that we'd expect: you don't have to spend hours killing monsters over and over just to level up enough to face a boss. Just proceeding through the core missions will develop you enough to see the whole game through. But should you wish to create specific weapon modifications, you will need to go scavenging for items, which could be considered grindy, especially if they're rare items and you don't have the perk that makes finding them easier.

141

750 days ago

Hell, yes. Grind is in its DNA.

2
Ulli (after 7 days 16 hours play time)

636 days ago

Yes and no. You can grind as much as you like... not don't.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

There is no grind in follow-up for its an adventure game, you explore.

1
Higgs Bonbon (after 30 days 16 hours play time)

234 days ago

The main story is an absolute breeze if you're just running and gunning, but it depends on what sort of character you're playing. Stealth is very difficult if not impossible at times because you can't have heavy armor and the perks required for a stealth build have very little application outside of that. I like to play by scrapping everything I can, but I need a high intelligence stat for most of my needs and that usually means I can't carry all the loot I'd like to. It's all about balance, but usually by the time you see problems in your build it's too late to fix them.

On higher difficulties all throughout the game, enemies can become damage sponges, even if you land those 16% headshots in VATS. Preventing your companions from shooting you in the back or turning on you after accidental friendly fire requires at least 8 charisma if I'm not mistaken, when the AI should just know better than to shoot at you or stand directly IN THE DOORWAY. Even if you do master the art of commanding your companions, you don't get the experience for their kills, which is frustrating if you've built an Automatron or use a mod that allows you to command more than one companion.

It entirely depends on how you approach this game; at times, the 'grind' of scavenging for items can be just that, a grind, but gosh if it isn't one of my favorite parts of the game.

avatar
636

752 days ago

No, it's not grindy, unless you really try to turn it into a grind. Play it as it is supposed to be played and even a bit more and it doesn't have any sort of grind in it.

avatar

184 days ago

Check out g2a it is a website where you can get ANY game much cheaper than on Steam, Origin, Battelnet, XBOX, ... check out the link and safe money https://www.g2a.com/r/gamer199

399
UntoldAv3nGer (after 1 day 2 hours play time)

752 days ago

5/5

1
Honest Bobcat™ (after 17 days 20 hours play time)

706 days ago

Honestly, it's just another genuine Bethesda RPG, they are all grindy, but with good entertainment, but you have to play the way you want to enjoy it, I don even pay attention to anything except sanctuary and feel that no level cap is too much but the max level being 272 makes more sense since that's where you unlock all perks. TD;DR: If it keeps me entertained, it's doing something right.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

At times, depends on what you want to do, if you want to fully set up a power armor, any armor, it'll take alot of items. But it's very worth it

1
Crêak (after 3 days 1 hour play time)

534 days ago

No. Its useful to collect trash to craft more things or sell it to buy what you want, especially ammo trading, but there is no real need for this unless you push the difficulty on very hard or survival. The game is another great Bethesda game:
you can get lost in sidequests easily, because they're (for the most part) enjoyable and you feel like you're making progress. The main story is fun, but I wouldn't call it the best in the world. There are many very thoughtful sidequests that can change how you approach the mainstory, but also how other people look at you. If you don't want to rush playing the game I would recommend you to wait until the last patch is live, as many modders are waiting for it, the Fallout 4 Script Extender being released and all the huge mods coming into play. Bethesda games greatlyl improve in quality by mods, Bethesda knows this and built their game in a very expandable way.

glacier1701 (after 19 days 12 hours play time)

481 days ago

In some ways it is as some needed materials in a vanilla game are very hard to find. Of course not getting those materials means that you do need to play carefully and adds to the challenge. Yet there will be times that you need the material to progress the game in character but because you do not have it you have to do something out of character (if you play that way).

However it really is not the materials gathering that makes the game grindy it is the fact that as you progress and build up settlements you spend too much time travelling to settlements to stop attacks and less and less time playing and exploring the game. It is that almost constant housekeeping that makes for the grind. Mods have helped tremendously on that side of things allowing you to explore the game and content that is in the game. Despite the fact that I have played a lot I do not think I've found everything that the base game contains.

In short the game is too grindy as you progress because you are the only one that can stop some things which become more frequent as you build up your bases.

Starwaster (after 66 days 16 hours play time)

473 days ago

I enjoyed most aspects right up until the very end. All possible 'endings' required mass murder and the total destruction of at least one faction if not 2-3 of them. There should have been an ending where you at least TRY to force the various factions to live together peacefully. Probably an impossible goal but it should at least have been an option to try.

None of the DLC seems to deal with the main plot's aftermath as did FO3's Broken Steel, something I had been looking forward to and perhaps maybe extending the original choices.

This lack of choice is why I have given this game 3 stars instead of 5.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

It depends on how people play the game. If you are looking for all special legendary weapons, crafting items, or anything of value, it will take some time. It's fun to do, but sometimes it's hard to do.

94
Psycold (after 4 days 22 hours play time)

752 days ago

I would say, yes...after playing for 100+ hours, the game has started to feel like a grind. I have stopped caring about exploring and going out and finding new things because the game is extremely forgiving with resources. I would still give the game a good score, but this is probably the first time ever where I felt the game was too long. Maybe it's my fault for spending too much time doing the unlimited missions provided to you by factions.

361
MrAptronym (after 12 days 3 hours play time)

666 days ago

It can be a bit grindy for materials. You will quickly learn to pick up everything light-ish with decent components and hoard it because if you suddenly find yourself 5 fiberoptics short of a new mod you will have to go hunting for microscopes.
For your character's progression, it is better to just ignore the leveling system and let it happen. If you find yourself looking forward 3 levels so you can actually upgrade your armor or somesuch then it is suddenly going to feel like a grind. Levels bring little enough that it didn't come up for me much. After my first character I just used the console to cheat my level up so I could get all the boring stuff out of the way. (Player. setlevel X)

avatar

You

Now

How open is Fallout 4 to explore?

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

From the moment the Vault opens (around 40mins into the game), you're absolutely free to explore the wasteland of Boston exactly how you please. There are places that may be impossible to see initially (such as high radiation zones that require shielded armour), but you are welcome to try if you're willing to die. There are areas that are clearly designed for high-level players, but they are not gated at all. For the most part though, you can see much of the Commonwealth before even starting the first quest.

130

751 days ago

As open as the map itself, which, it's worth noting, Bethesda makes a bit smaller with every release.

141

750 days ago

very open

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

The developer went to considerable lengths on making sure Fallout 4 was as open as possible.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

There is absolutely nothing stopping you from exploring everywhere in the wasteland. Safe for the people that want you dead in the radiation that is eating away at your body. Other than that nothing stopping you.

192
Silentius (after 4 days 14 hours play time)

738 days ago

Fallout 4 provides the player with a mindbogglingly huge arena and places virtually no limits on exploration. Want to climb to the top of a skyscraper and leap to your death... done! Want to traverse the murky depths and discover the forbidden secrets of the ocean floor... done! Want to wander endlessly for days on end with no one for company but your own thoughts (and the occasional feral ghoul)... done! Exploration, more than anything else, is the driving force behind all of Bethesda's Gamebyro and Creation Engine games. The idea of delving through the shadowy nooks and crannies of a forgotten world has always lain at the heart of the RPG experience. With Fallout 4 Bethesda have once again proven themselves digital masters of the genre.

361
MrAptronym (after 12 days 3 hours play time)

666 days ago

Very open. There are a few places closed off at first, but they don't come up much organically. It is actually kind of neat that you will visit a couple new places as you progress, regardless of time spent in the game prior.

2
Ulli (after 7 days 16 hours play time)

636 days ago

Very much open. Huge map, a lot of buildings to explore. and a massive amount of hidden things to be found. You cant enter every building but thats ok.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

I think it's really big and really fun to explore. With the vanilla game, it still has plenty of places to explore and some places I am still shocked or surprised by finding because I didn't explore through my first play through. With mods, it is really fun as well because they add things that could have been in the vanilla game in the first place.

avatar
636

752 days ago

Pretty open, although I suspect you won't last very long against a Death Claw when you're armed with your puny 10 mm pistol. But there are no "doors", you can go where you want to go.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

I started tearing down sacntuary as soon as I got there. Noone had to walk me through it. So yes you can explore it easily.

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Fallout 4?

130

751 days ago

Trick question. Graded as an FPS it would get a grimace and a sort of noncommittal twisting of a horizontal palm. But taken as a first person action RPG, the shooting is a huge improvement over Fallout 3 and is one of the game's strongest suits. A player could easily have their time happily spent ignoring the main plot and treating the game as a shoot-and-loot experience, staying in real time and using VATS for tactical shots. There are some things that will annoy, such as raiders unerringly picking at you as you crouch behind cover, unable to get a shot on them with a sniper rifle while they pepper you with bullets from an automatic pistol, or that one guy who somehow has a Fat Man and one shots you and everything in a half mile radius through the floor -- but overall, shooting has impact and the action is tense. The most fun I had in the game was just exploring the glowing sea on the hardest difficulty level, in power armor, with Paladin Danse, pretending to be Space Marines. ANOTHER MUTANT SLAIN, BROTHER!

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

Compared to the previous Fallout games, 4 is a shooting masterpiece. It can actually be played as an FPS, with responsive controls and weapons that feel like firearms rather than cardboard replicas. There's less pressure to use VATS because the core shooting design is very workable. There's still an RPG element to it all, which means headshots are not instant kills, and some enemies are bullet sponges due to high levels and big HP bars. Influence from games like Rage in the way enemies move, and a more 'cinematic' tone to battle makes it a compelling shooter, but it is an RPG first and foremost, so don't use it as a replacement for Call of Duty.

avatar
636

752 days ago

As a FPS, is it better than F3 and LV? Hell, yes. Is it comparable with the big names of the FPS genre ... ehm, no. Honestly, it's in a good place for a Fallout game, it doesn't need to be CS:GO. Actually, it SHOULDN'T be CS:GO.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

The best in the series.

Fallout 3 suffered from the perk system overpowering the guns which left them a tad underplayed, and Fallout New Vegas had a tacked-on mod system.

In Fallout 4, each gun feels unique (in sound and form), and the AI has expanded to so that foes evade attacks and switch positions to gain tactical or defensive advantages.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

Most of the time fallout 4 is a thinking man's FPS.

141

750 days ago

Mostly, yes.

192
Silentius (after 4 days 14 hours play time)

738 days ago

It's certainly better than Fallout 3 or New Vegas. Bethesda have put a lot of effort into making the games's combat mechanics fun and engaging. Improvements to AI mean that enemies duck for cover, look to outflank you and even lay down suppressing fire. What's more, Fallout 4 has clearly been designed with gun-nuts in mind: on top of a staggering array of core weapons, the crafting system means that the game allows for near infinite death-dealing variety. Admittedly, Bethesda still have a long way to go if they wan't to match the 'realism' of a hardcore twitch shooter like Call of duty or Counterstrike Source, but, realism isn't what Fallout games are about is it?

361
MrAptronym (after 12 days 3 hours play time)

666 days ago

Better as an FPS than an RPG. It plays pretty well. The shooting is much better, and even if it isn't always stellar, the open world and mechanically distinct enemies make it unique and fun. I didn't even use VATS for several hours into my first play through.

2
Ulli (after 7 days 16 hours play time)

636 days ago

When you select the right perks and use the right weapons and you are looking for a fight... than F4 is more an FPS than a RPG.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

It's not a streamlined FPS like CoD, or a realistic game like RO or ArmA, but what it brings is great for the series standards.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Since I have been seeing other people play this game, I think the graphics look great with mods like MxR. The mods he uses to make the game look better and IMMERSIVE. If I had better graphics, then I would give an opinion on it, but I don't so I am basing it off of other peoples videos.

avatar

You

Now

What strategies have you learned to survive in Fallout 4?

130

751 days ago

Get in the power armor and then never get out, not even to go to the bathroom.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

The key thing for progressing well is building a character to your strengths. It's very tempting to try everything out, but if you've got lots of points invested in being good with single-shot rifles, using them over shotguns is the way forward. This is an RPG, so based on numbers and 'dice' rather than pointing and shooting. A combination of good VATS use and manual shooting will see you through. As tempting as the chems are, try to keep off them: no one likes a junkie, and addiction can be annoying.

avatar
636

752 days ago

Hmm. While the game tries to be a decent FPS, VATS is still the most efficient way to defeat the tougher enemies. Get the Scoundrel (?) perk so you don't run out of ammo for your favorite gun. Otherwise, poke around every corner and enjoy exploring.

Oh, cripple the legs of more powerful enemies, like Death Claws, Assaultrons and anything else that tries to get close. Makes everything so much easier.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Perks in order of priority (starting out and staying in Survival mode): Idiot Savant (with 1 intelligence point), Toughness, Armorer, Locksmith, Lifegiver, Rifleman, Scrounger, Chem Resistant, and Refractor.

Using mainly non-automatic rifles, I just finished the main quest and revealed most of the map. Scrounger helps to increase the amount and consistency of when looting Fusion Cores, as I have yet to run out of them.

Throughout most of the game I removed the mods from guns I obtained from containers, and put them in my own weapons since I remained at 1 intelligence until about level 60.

192
Silentius (after 6 days 9 hours play time)

716 days ago

Initially I would say it's imperative that, as early as possible, you maximise your carrying capacity: being able to pack-horse it across the wasteland is a must. I would also suggest selecting a favoured weapon or weapons and sticking to them - at least in the first instance. Doing so will enable you to develop core proficiencies around which you can build your character. It's also useful to focus on maxing-out either your lock-picking or terminal hacking skills early on. This will provide access to the kind of high level loot you need to advance.

Later on, however, 'survival strategy' becomes less and less of a concern. As your character develops and acquires better weapons and perks you're more likely to look for strategies to make the game more of a challenge i.e. limiting yourself to a particular ammo type or wearing only unmodded armours.

361
MrAptronym (after 12 days 3 hours play time)

666 days ago

The Scrounger perk is very useful, just a couple ranks and you will never run out of bullets. Selling ammo you don't use is great to keep the coffers full as well.
The Penetrator perk makes it possible to shoot fusion cores on power armor and sentry bots from the front in VATS. The shots are also weirdly easy to make, almost always 95%.
Non-automatic Rifles are hands down the best weapons-choice. More options than pistols and they cover the whole range spectrum from shotguns to snipers. All the best guns can be silenced too unlike pistols. Explosives can be useful to perk as well. 2 points gets a throwing arc on grenades, and each point also beefs up the fatman and missile launcher... and gamma gun?
If you care about settlements and making use of them, you NEED charisma. Almost everyone will also want 4 intelligence and Perception for hacking/lockpicking. Also no penalty for exiting and re-entering a hacking minigame, so just guess three things and retry until you get it.
Aim for the legs on melee enemies, blasting a leg off of a ghoul or deathclaw drops it. On synths and robots you can also blast off an arm carrying a weapon.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Keep killing things

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Learned to always take loot

2
Ulli (after 7 days 16 hours play time)

636 days ago

Stay low, stay calm, use your scope and chose the right perks.

141

750 days ago

No such strategies are needed.

avatar

You

Now

Does Fallout 4 allow for a good range of character builds?

192
Silentius (after 6 days 9 hours play time)

713 days ago

I would say it does. Perhaps not in an experiential sense - ultimately you're going to wind up visiting the same places and doing the same sort of things no matter how you build your character- but, your choice of perks, can determine how you get there.
Prefer picking your enemies off from distance with long-range weapons? There's less need for you to focus on becoming a bullet sponge. Like to be in the thick of it? You'd better invest some experience points to enhance your character's constitution. Character building in Fallout 4 is, however, about more than just perks, it's also about the toys. Your choice of weapons, armour and even clothing can also influence how you play. Want to relive Kevin Costner's I'll fated epic 'The Postman'? There's a costume for that! Want to adopt the persona of the mighty Grognak the Barbarian, or play a mysterious but deadly superhero come private eye? All the correct accessories are at your disposal.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

You can build a great variety of builds in Fallout 4 thanks to the extensive perk system. If you wish to put points into your basic SPECIAL skills and just increase your stats, you can. If you want to focus on being a weapons and armour smith, pile them all into perks that enhance your crafting abilities. Other perks focus on stealth, speech, defense, attack, and a dozen other strange and interesting skills and abilities. You could play Fallout ten times over and never have a character built with quite the same set of perks.

avatar
636

752 days ago

I haven't been playing enough to have a definitive answer to this, but right now I get the feeling that you're forced into a rather constricted "build". Do you want to build settlements? You need Charisma, otherwise you don't get caravans and things get very complicated very fast.

I guess that technically you can try different builds, but based on a standard "base" build. That might work for most people, but might not for RP.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Sort of. Stealth is possible, but it will take a great deal of time. Pure melee can be achieved too, but will need every conceivable defensive perk to be possible later in the game.

VATS-only characters are possible with most of the same constraints plus certain weapons.

Ultimately, Fallout 4 offers options to augment your character, but doesn't have much in the way of straight builds.

361
MrAptronym (after 12 days 3 hours play time)

666 days ago

Not really. Most of the perks are terrible and there is definitely a most effective path. You can do other things, but you will be less effective in some respects. Worst of all, there are a lot of perks that basically everyone will want, and they eat up your levels.
Basically your only meaningful build decision will be "What kind of weapon do I want to use" for a very long time. Even then it is kind of hard to justify a lot of the choices.

2
Ulli (after 7 days 16 hours play time)

636 days ago

No. The game does not reward you for being a prick (like Star Wars - KOTOR). You may choose between melee or mid/long-range fighting and male/female character. Thats it.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

There is no real character builds, the RPG side is fairly rudimentary. I have high charisma and spend a couple levels so I can settle things peacefully or just to see the extra lines written up.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Honestly, I try to do my own build or go for other builds, but they don't have what I am looking for. I usually go for someone who uses and builds guns all the time as well as being charismatic near the start but doesn't really start off like that.

141

750 days ago

No. It's all about shooting and killing. Grab your weapon and shoot.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Fallout 4?

130

751 days ago

The weapon modding system is actually quite good, if you put enough points into the required skills. I would have liked it to be greater than it was, but perhaps modding can expand it. Being able to customize and rename your favorite weapons is a positive touch. Overall, weapons have good impact and feel enjoyable to use, and this is one of the series' only solid improvements over previous releases.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

Fallout's weapons crafting system makes owning and using guns fun. You need to put points into perks to get the best ones - be that increasing your gun nut or science skills - but with a good selection of scrap and the right knowledge you can make weapons for all kinds of situations. Having a gun tailored to you (and even given a name) makes it personal and more fun. Shooting is bloody and gory, and while not a twitch shooter with slick controls, is still engaging. High-level enemies with big HP bars can be a bit laborious to fight.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

The gunplay can be a bit finicky. Fallout is not a twitch shooter and the guns take time to get used to.

avatar
636

752 days ago

I wouldn't mind a bit more variety, although that might be against the theme of the game. Shooting is OK, but w/o using VATS the tougher enemies start feeling bullet spongy.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Best in the series. Most of the weapons can be modified in meaningful ways and legendary monsters will drop and endless sea of unique guns, in addition ones that can be found around the world proper. Gun sights+sounds feel incredibly fresh and well thought out in context of gameplay.

361
MrAptronym (after 12 days 3 hours play time)

666 days ago

The guns are a lot of fun, they handle well and most feel pretty unique. Pistols are a bit lacking in variety though, and a couple weapons don't benefit from perks you would expect of them. (e.g. Gamma Gun is not a pistol.) Melee weapons suffer from a lack of upgrades, with the ones that do exist being flat improvements. Melee just isn't very deep for fun. Explosives are both useful and impressive this time around though.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Great fun :D

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

All the weapons are actually pretty fun when you add mods, custom weapons, attachments, pretty much anything that make the gun better. Also, the new legendary system they added is really cool because it's a random chance of finding them and the enemies are also fun to face against. Mods for the game also make it cool because you can have a weapon that you can't find and you can just craft it. Like if you want a combat rifle with increased reload and you can't find it, you can craft it with a few crafting items.

141

750 days ago

Combat satisfaction is probably one of the key strengths of Fallout 4.

avatar

You

Now

How sneaky can you be in Fallout 4?

avatar
636

752 days ago

Less than you could in F3 or LV. I do use stealth a lot, but as soon as I fire my suppressed gun I might as well stand up and fight. Enemies "sense" you from different floors and though walls, which makes stealth runs though the larger locations annoying, since you're constantly spammed with dialog from NPC's that are looking for you.

Basically, you can sneak a bit, you can go around a Death Claw if you're in the open, you can get the first shot against an unsuspecting enemy, but don't expect any kind of tactical decision making with regards to stealth and how you approach a fight.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

Fallout 4 has a stealth system, based on crouching and sneaking. An indicator tells you if you are detected by other characters, and when in stealth mode you are able to pick pocket NPCs and back-stab enemies for big damage. It's not a true stealth game, but does offer it as a solid playing option.

141

750 days ago

It works but not very well. There are definitely better stealth games out there.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Admittedly, I mostly stealth in non-combatant situations (such as stealing), reconnaissance, or taking out the leader before a fight begins.

That said, it plays more realistically then most stealth games.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Not so much. Easier with a long range rifle and suppressor with scope. Even then not so much.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

I have noticed that you are more hidden in the dark than in light so I am not really that good when it come to stealth because I try to do it, but I never have enough perks in the beginning to make silencers fast enough so I feel like I'm not doing anything.

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in Fallout 4?

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

While there is an element of randomness to loot drops in Fallout, most of the time what you see is what you get: if you're fighting raiders, you know to expect leather armour and beaten-up guns, not a laser rifle and some power armour. So yes, loot is as fair as it should be.

avatar
636

752 days ago

I would say fair. I like it that your common raider usually uses and drops pipe weapons and that for higher quality weapons you have to explore in more darker corners of the game.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Depends really. Its randomish. THough with some mods putting legendaries into boss chests it can be better.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

The loop that I've been obtaining has allowed me to easily put grass to harder and harder encounters.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Most of everything in the game can be used for something of value, and this is a large compliment over the previous installments.

Additionally, named and legendary enemies continue to drop items that I still get excited over after 200 hours of gameplay. Found items in the world make sense in game world, and often come with some form of history that adds to their uniqueness.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

when it comes to legendaries, they are cool in the beginning, but as you go on, they get repetitive and might not be the weapon you want that specific legendary for.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Fallout 4 story?

130

751 days ago

It's awful. Terrible. An incoherent mess of unexplored motivations, justifying itself and its multitude of loose ends with handwaving. You can see the exact moment they stopped paying attention to it and started assigning actions to the player based on whatever hieroglyphs were written on the original pencil draft of the design document. Ignore it for as long as you can. If you're playing the game for its plot and you're aware enough to know what a 'plot' actually is, then you're only going to find yourself confused and disappointed.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

760 days ago

Boston is home to the best story that Fallout has seen since Bethesda took custody. There's a great sense of paranoia in the air as people fear the Institute, a buried organisation that are replacing humans with synthetics. This leads to a Blade Runner-like setting that explores the ethics of limitless technology and the ideas of sentient mechanical life.
While the story is great, the presentation is a little haphazard. You can join every faction in the game, and at times it can feel messy as you complete missions in conflict with each other. Alliances are broken at pre-determined stages in the game rather than organically with a reputation scale, which can make the story feel overly prescribed at times.

avatar
636

752 days ago

The main story? Huh, there is one? Oh, the baby thing ... sorry, forgot all about that. I liked the way the Institute is portrayed and the paranoia that surrounds it, but overall the whole factions system felt very mechanical and somehow uninspired.

141

750 days ago

Mediocre at best

192
Silentius (after 6 days 9 hours play time)

710 days ago

The main story in Fallout 4 is pretty good. All the NPCs are well crafted and so too is the central narrative arc. However, the themes of the story, its apparent urgency and the way it force-develops your character seem to grate against some of your activities outside the main plotline. Personally, I found it hard to reconcile my role as a selfless, loving father with my having sent over 500 souls to meet their maker.

192
Silentius (after 6 days 9 hours play time)

710 days ago

For this reason, as much as I enjoyed it, the main plot-line almost feels like a completely separate, perhaps even secondary, game from Fallout 4's ostensibly open world environment.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

The side stuff is usually better, honestly. The main line makes you hate all factions.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

what's a story?

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

The main story isn't as strong as Fallout 3 or Fallout New Vegas, and borrows a little too much from Fallout 3. Also, each faction ending contains the same sequence which was quite a surprise since there was effort put into making them a feature.

...and Ron Perlman is missing. Why in the hell is he missing?

However, I reckon 90% of the game is the stuff outside of the primary plot(s) and all of this exterior story is what makes the game as great as it is.

Case in point, my favorite companion of the series is in Fallout 4 and it was very much in an incredibly obscure area of the game, and the development of that character left me almost clapping in applause.

avatar

You

Now

How gory is Fallout 4?

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

761 days ago

There's a bucket full of blood in Fallout 4, retaining the grindhouse-esque style from Fallout 3. Heads pop, limbs detach and flop around, and blood spurts from wounds like strawberry sauce fountains. The bloody mess perk allows you to up the gore levels too.

avatar
636

752 days ago

Feels tunned down from previous games really. Heads and limbs still explode, but with a rather cartoony animation. Some locations are creepy and gory, but nothing out of the ordinary, considering the theme.

130

751 days ago

After wading through your fifth curtain of meathooks and dangling limbs to find ones twelfth bathtub full of mangled torsos beneath a chandelier of infant bones and severed heads, you just don't notice it anymore, nor does it seem surprising any longer that people would think to decorate their homes this way.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Very....I pop a guy's head off with a 10mm from across a factory and his giblets will hit me in the face

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Headshots with enhanced blood mod, dismemberment, and a mod where you can rip someone's arm off. Not that much

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

The enemies look amazing which, in turn, look amazing when their heads go missing.

...and then you get to the last stage of the Bloody Mess perk.

avatar

You

Now

Just how violent is Fallout 4?

avatar
636

752 days ago

Lets put it this way, I was more afraid to wonder around in F3 than I am in F4. F4 feels less violent than F3. Or maybe that the violence is now somehow restricted to indoor locations, because there are some very Mad-Max like indoor locations that scream violence after you take just a few steps from the door.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

The game insists on you being implicated in murdering anyone and everything, and there are large swathes of baddies who want to dine on your corpse without many words in-between.

There is also the story, without revealing much all I can say is that most of the paths will end in a bang instead of a wimper, and in more ways than one.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

761 days ago

Fallout 4 is very violent, which is no surprise since it's set in a world constantly at war (although that war has reduced from atomic annihilation down to squabbling over remaining resources and opinions on robots). This is reflected in the fact that almost every quest is resolved by shooting/hitting things in the face. Most of Fallout's missions are combat orientated, and there are few non-violent conflict resolutions.

130

751 days ago

A more difficult question to answer than it first appears. Fallout doesn't have emotional investment in its violence, nor moral confidence in its setting. There's no impact to it, 'violence' in this case is just 'action'. You shoot someone and their head comes off, or they explode. It's perfectly rote. We mow people down like this in video games all the time. So if you were to ask me whether Fallout 4 contains scenes OF violence, then yes, it does, the game is peppered with battlefield scenarios and life or death struggles. However, I feel as though it's only "violence" if it contains an element of realism, a degree of emotional passion, or if in some sense, however small, it shocks me. Kenny with the crowbar in Telltale's second helping of The Walking Dead was violence. I can't think of a moment during Fallout 4's litany of death in which I even blinked.

141

750 days ago

Very gory, but only immature violence.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

You don't have Far Cry 4's introductory stabby scene, but the insinuated violence plus many strung up bodies and bags of giblets.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

I mean, just like like how gory it is, pretty much the same thing.

avatar

You

Now

Would Fallout 4 please a dog person?

avatar
636

752 days ago

I also left the dog when I got a human companion, but now I'm thinking about getting him back. It's well put together, but it will be a tough sale compared to the rest of possible companions.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Absolutely, there is dog armor and stuff to customize his look. You can also have many dogs (I have yet to check to see if it is actually possible), and the character has personality and does cute stuff with certain objects like the teddy bear.

neonmosh Avatar
8
neonmosh(42 days 8 hours played)
1 Year ago
The Great Gratzby made a good point about dog murdering, I've changed my position. Not a great game for dog lovers in that respect.
1
89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

760 days ago

There's a dog in it. That seems enough to get dog people going, so I guess so? I personally think dogs are a bit rubbish. I left the dog at the earliest opportunity.

130

751 days ago

You murder far more dogs in this game than you save. Caveat canis.

avatar

667 days ago

Not at all. Sure it's nice to watch Dogmeat play and reside in his hut and not run you over all the time - for 5 minutes.
But take him on a mission and it's mostly whimpering from him because his AI won't make him run away from that place where he takes one bullet after another...

Oh yes, sounds are quite good in FO4. I grab everyone but Dogmeat for a stroll in the neighbourhood just for this reason alone.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Maybe? I have a mod that lets you keep Dogmeat with any other Companion. So I'm set

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

no, there are feral dogs and you need to kill them or pacify, but there are dead dogs in the game. And when dogmeat gets injured, he whimpers and it's actually kinda sad hearing it.

avatar

You

Now

Did Fallout 4's humour make you laugh or wince?

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

I chuckled quite a bit, but I already know that if there was a moment that would have been righteously funny it would have been missed due to the lip/voice missmatch and wooden expressions and gestures.

That said, the stuff didn't kill the experience for me too much.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

761 days ago

On the whole, Fallout 4 isn't that funny. There's the cheerful 1950s-like Vault Boy animations, and the odd bit of pre-war hope that sits amusingly alongside the desolate reality of post-nuclear america, but on the whole the story and characters are played pretty straight. You may get a smile out of the knowing winks here and there, such as Nick Valentine's obvious parallels with Blade Runner's Rick Deckard, but beyond that there's no real obvious humour. This is not Fallout 2 / New Vegas.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

There wasn't really any humor other than the way bodies were found from 200 years ago

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

There are some pretty funny things in the game. Glitches make things better too.

avatar
636

752 days ago

No, not really. A few remarks from my companion were funny the first few times, but that quickly fades into background noise once you heard them 10 times in the last 30 mins.

130

751 days ago

Both. Mostly wince, but in amongst all that there were some laudable moments, like the ~SILVER SHROUD~ radio program and ensuing questline.

141

750 days ago

Not really.

avatar

You

Now

Does the setting of Fallout 4 feel original?

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

The setting is basically the same as fallout 3.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

The Fallout setting has been around for some time now, but it does feel fairly unique compared to other games. The world does have similarities to Mad Max with it's rusty metals and spiked armours, but overall it's flavour is very much the 1950s and retro-future. That is pretty original as far as gaming goes.

avatar
636

752 days ago

It feels more like an improvement over F3, rather than something original. You get the city areas, which somehow feel nicely claustrophobic. You can also climb on certain buildings, which brings a nice new layer to your exploration of the world. Coastal areas, which I believe are new to the series, feel original.

141

750 days ago

Not at all.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

I mean Boston is a nice change.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Feels original because they have rad storms and rain.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

It feels like Boston (I have been there IRL) in a whole lot of ways.

However, I am perhaps one of the few people that miss the gray and green of the capital wastes of Fallout 3.

avatar

You

Now

How bleak is the end of the world in Fallout 4?

avatar
636

752 days ago

It's set 200 years after the end of the world, so honestly you should expect that humanity started rebuilding by then, at least to some degree. It doesn't feel as bleak and desperate as F3 or LV, but I think it is a good change.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

Not actually as bleak as you'd expect the nuclear apocalypse to be. While there's plenty of danger, monsters, and devastation every where, the remains of civilisation is getting on pretty okay. There's cities and towns, trading, culture, a media, and sense of community. These people may be living in shacks made of pallets and corrugated steel, but this isn't the end of the world at all.

130

751 days ago

Bethesda seem to have fallen in love with the pre-nuclear, 50s-esque "World of Tomorrow!" element of Fallout, and based much of their game around that, forgetting the contrast between the cheery lies of yesteryear and the dirty, brutal realities of life after the bomb. There's a Sesame Street feel to the whole thing that the endless raider gore caves and missed-the-bus "artificial persons" racism allegory don't quite manage to shake.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Its not too bleak

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Actually feels pretty normal besides the monsters, raiders, mutants, pretty much everything that tries to kill you.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Not so much, you never feel that things will completely end, and as a character you feel inherently more safe in the world than in Fallout 3 or New Vegas. However, while playing this idea had never crossed my mind.

Literally speaking, the world is more colorful than New Vegas but also has very grimdark locations that rival Fallout 3.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Fallout 4 give you?

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Almost anything not story reated you're free to do.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

760 days ago

There's freedom to do almost anything you want within the abilities of the mechanics. You can go on a genocide mission, or play goody-two-shoes and rebuilt civilisation with new towns and trade routes. The map is open from almost hour 0, allowing freedom to explore and discover. How satisfied with your freedom will depend on how much reaction you require from the world though; evil deeds are almost entirely ignored, making creating a truly villainous character difficult since everyone will still see you as the hero of the Commonwealth, even if you did just eat their brother.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

With all the weapon and armor modifications as well as the settlements, I feel like I have at least double the amount of freedom in this game over the others.

However, I do feel that some of the main story forces you to choose an option that you yourself wouldn't take, or that it funnels you down the story in ways that the other games didn't. Which is a shame.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

A lot really, craft your own weapon, armor, and settlements,

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Fallout 4 sale?

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

There's a huge wealth of things to do in Fallout 4, and for the most part they are done very well. If any game is worth full price, this is one of them. As is always the case with PC gaming, you're likely to be able to find a good deal and a voucher code even on day one of release, so do shop around and be sensible rather than just grabbing it from Steam.

avatar
636

752 days ago

Bought the thing already and don't regret it.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Well worth the full price, I also pre-purchased the DLC because I have had a good experience with Bethesda's additional content in the past.

This is coming from a person that refuses to purchase games from certain major publishers because of their DLC practices.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

I'd say yes.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Would wait for a sale. Not really full price worthy without mods (just saying) but would wait for a tiny sale if I could have.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

The game was a gift. That said I would never tell anybody to purchase a AAA game at full price. I just don't believe in it. When you add the price of DLC on top of the already $60 price tag is just too much money. I would stress to wait for a sale something at least 15% off.

130

751 days ago

Thanks to their expansive moddability, Bethesda games mature with age for years after their release. Until paid mods become the standard, any time you spend waiting for a sale is only likely to improve your actual game experience.

avatar

You

Now

Would you recommend any good Fallout 4 mods?

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

Enhanced Wasteland Preset is a must. The color filtering that by default is used washes out everything. Sometimes it is really hard to see detail. The enhanced wasteland presets help dramatically.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

A lot of people don't like the Mass Effect-style dialogue interface, as it is both controller-focused and only shows paraphrased hints at what your character may say. The Full Dialogue Interface mod changes it to a traditional Bethesda style list of sentences that can be said, which looks more 'PC' and removes the guess work out of what your character will talk about.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Have yet to mod the game, so not at this time.

I tend to play vanilla until it gets boring (see Skyrim), or when the content runs dry, which has yet to happen for myself.

717 days ago

Until the official mod tools become available there won't be much in the way of in-depth mods, but these are "must have".

Fallout 4 - Texture Optimization Project
Improved Map with Visible Roads
Full Dialogue Interface
Remove Interior Fog
keyNuker

Not an all inclusive list, but will help with performance and fix a couple "bugs". Check out the Nexus for more mods.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Depends on what you want. I have 146 mods, and 150 active plugins at the moment.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

A lot really, but don't want to name them all really. I do like gun mods, making your own legendary, and cbbe (cause I'm freaky)

avatar
636

752 days ago

I would rather recommend you wait, until the game is patched and people have had time to come up with cool mods. Do a run w/o mods, avoid all the technical issues that mods can bring, see the game how it was intended to be seen. Then wait a few months and try a new run with mods.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the Fallout 4 mod scene?

avatar
636

752 days ago

It looks active and it will only get more active over the time. Maybe not Skyrim active, but hopefully close enough.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

772 days ago

Hugely active; within a couple of days there was already 200 mods on the Nexus. If anything, it's kicked off much quicker than Skryrim's scene, and I expect to see a thriving community even stronger than that one very soon. When official Steam Workshop support arrives in 2016, no doubt there will be some amazing mods.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Seems pretty active, with all Bethesda games there are a bunch of dedicated modders out there to fix their games for them or to add Thomas the Tank Engine INTO EVERYTHING.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Huge

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

It's pretty much like Skyrim, every week is a new mod

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Fallout 4?

130

751 days ago

Again, guns sweep up all the accolades here: A gunshot fired in the hills rips through the open countryside with a faint afterecho, while the pop-pop-pop of distant gunfire sounds like a child's fireworks display. And so the interaction of sound with its environment is actually quite good, something people tend not to notice when it isn't happening. That's about all that really caught my ear, though.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

But not spectacular but they do their job well.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

760 days ago

Much of the sound design returns from Fallout 3, so things will sound familiar and comfortable. Thankfully voice over is much improved, and characters seem much more human in conversations. The radio re-uses a lot of tracks from Fallout 3, which feels half a cop-out, half nice and familiar. The new tracks are well chosen, although the DJ has much to be desired.

avatar
636

752 days ago

Sound is rather average, maybe bellow average at times. The only good thing that comes to mind is that characters have more dialog, which does miracles to the feeling of immersion. The people that complain about the voiced player characters are either fools or trolls.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Not bad, but some mods have made it better.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

They do sound weakish at times, and so do the explosions.

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

I absolutely love what they have done with the weapon and explosion sounds. I also like how much dialog is in the game, and the endless amout of unique characters (almost all of them have unique voices).

I also dread every time I hear the sound that precedes a mini nuke. Every. Single. Time.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Fallout 4?

avatar
636

752 days ago

The game somehow manages to look decent, despite the absolutely rubbish textures. The character models are OK, lighting is very good, water is fine. But then you look closely at any object and suddenly feel like loosing your lunch.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

The graphics in fallout for are not bleeding edge. They do on the other hand present a high fidelity open environment. Instead of going balls to the wall with shaders and waiting and superhigh poly counts. Bethesda decided in my observations to create a clear image. Everything in the game is smooth. There is not much in the way of collisions and things are detail.

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

760 days ago

Fallout 4 has good graphics. Things look old and rusty and generally irradiated to hell and back. The art design is great, and things feel suitably 'Fallout', with a believable world. However, compared to many triple-A games out at the moment, Fallout 4 lacks the level of shine and perfection in its visuals. Prepare for low-res textures, lumpy model work, and some muddy colours. The lighting is terrific though, and goes a long way to make up for shortcomings.

141

750 days ago

outdated

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

Service able, and a little bit of an improvement over the previous installments.

The main draw to this game is the content and gameplay that surrounds those graphics, and I am a little bit happy that my video card doesn't cry every time I turn the game on.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Not Crysis level, but good, and with shader and texture mods it looks stupendous.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

When you sometimes look up in the sky when it's foggy and sunny, you get a little blur, but the rest is ok.

avatar

You

Now

How does Fallout 4 run on your PC?

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

On High Quality: 60 FPS nearly all the time on a Nvidia GTX 670 (!)

It slows down to about 30 FPS in the institute and in very few other areas of the game.

Fallout 4 almost never crashes, but there is a "disappearing gun" bug that happens every time I play. The workaround is minimal: I simply press the select button twice and I am good to go for at least an hour, if not longer.

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

I've read some reports that fallout 4 has had some trouble bugs and crashes. I have had a few instances of frame rate drops into the 40s. This usually happens in a highly congested area. But the performance has been rocksolid. I have not tried to run the game in 4K but I will try in the near future.
17 3770k OC 4.2ghz, 16gb ram, 512 SSD, 2x GTX980 SLI

89
Matt Purslow (after 14 hours play time)

760 days ago

Played on a i7 3770k 3.5ghz CPU, 16GB RAM, and an ATI Radeon HD 7970, Fallout 4 runs pretty well. 60fps is achievable, but it mostly settles around 55fps on ultra settings. Things can dip into the 40s and occasionally even the 20s, but for the most part its a pretty smooth experience.

avatar
636

752 days ago

Unexpectedly good. The only complain is that after alt-tabing in and out of the game it runs at 1 FPS and must be restarted. Otherwise, I was expecting much worse.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

With a 980, above 30 generally. With all my mods it kind of dips alot.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

Windows mode, all low settings, around 50-60 fps, a still fun game even on those settings.

141

750 days ago

very well

avatar

You

Now

What are gamers first impressions of Fallout 4

156
Ninja Fried Rice (after 7 hours play time)

780 days ago

Yes

Why do gamers keep coming back to Fallout 4

8
neonmosh (after 14 days play time)

720 days ago

I keep playing because of the unique locations, loot, characters, stories (outside of the main quest), and the gameplay.

I love mech games and the power armor in Fallout 4 feels so damn good, all without destroying the game's balance. Power armor here has personality, and modifications to it and other items in the game actually serve a purpose in addition to looking good. Personally, Fallout 4 is the best single-player mech game I have played due to the immersion of the suit in the game.

After at least 250 hours of gameplay, I have only recently found one of my favorite characters in the entire series.

Survival mode is also really fun and rewarding to play in permanently. That said, I want a perma-death option that also locks the difficulty which I may end up looking to the mod community for.

6
DeltaForce95 (after 12 days 6 hours play time)

579 days ago

Just the wandering the fights, the lttle stories you have to sum up when you come across scenes from 200 year ago. I love seeing the different stories of the war.

33
The DJ (after 16 days 10 hours play time)

228 days ago

I keep playing so I can try different mods and playthroughs. Also, I keep playing it because sometimes I miss it or I see someone else play it and I think it's pretty cool again and pick it up sometimes.