Firewatch Review

How good is the Firewatch story?

96
ZedClampet (after 1 hour play time)

661 days ago

This is the problem. It's a good story up until the end, then it falls apart.

659 days ago

Good game, but I don't like the ending. I agree with ZedClampet.

avatar

67 days ago

awful game for me. i would never play this again, good thing i didn't have to pay for this stupid game.

avatar

67 days ago

im not going to purchase also from firewatch namely campo santo.

653 days ago

The game offers no mechanics other than the story (relationship between 2 main characters, which is done by presenting the player with "multiple options dialogue system"). So, it's a linear story driven game in which your choices mean nothing to the story. It's a horrible mistake, making the game painfully uninteresting and once finished leaving you with a strong feeling of wasted time.

avatar

You

Now

What makes Firewatch mature?

avatar

67 days ago

i never really thought firewatch was matured, i always thought it was childish.

avatar

You

Now

What is the mystery at the centre of Firewatch?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 7 hours play time)

662 days ago

That's the fun of the game, in many ways. For hours I wondered if it would turn out to be a horror game, or a romance, or something else.

In the most succinct terms: someone is watching Henry and Delilah out in the wilderness and tapping their radio conversations. It seems for a while as though there may be a secret research operation going on in their national park whose operatives are snooping on them, but it's eventually revealed that a former employee has been living wild out there after his son died in a climbing accident, and he's the one who's been tailing them.

avatar

You

Now

How funny is Firewatch?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 7 hours play time)

662 days ago

Radio chatter between Henry and Delilah has its moments. It's unlikely to make you laugh out loud, but there's a gentle humour to their interactions.

avatar

You

Now

Does Firewatch make you feel paranoid?

96
ZedClampet (after 1 hour play time)

661 days ago

Absolutely. That's the main feeling it tries to give you.

avatar

You

Now

Is Firewatch scary?

avatar

67 days ago

no! its awful. i don't recommend it.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Firewatch?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 7 hours play time)

662 days ago

Wonderful. Absolutely wonderful. It's not about poly counts or AA techniques, but rather Olly Moss's inspired art direction which summons latter day Pixar and Team Fortress 2. The Wyoming wilderness is painted in different hues as the day goes on, turning recognisable landmarks into new scenes. It'll look great for years, too.

avatar

67 days ago

a child could make this awful game.

avatar

You

Now

How does Firewatch run on your PC?

avatar

67 days ago

stop working all the time. even if they improved. i would never buy from this developers.

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 7 hours play time)

662 days ago

It's not a very demanding game at all. It's all in the art direction, rather than in advanced post-processing effects.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Firewatch?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 7 hours play time)

662 days ago

Ambient sound design isn't the best I've heard. The visuals really do the talking when it comes to putting you in the wilderness. There's an effective minimal electronic score though, and a memorable song from the era echoing out over a lake from its ghetto blaster..

avatar

You

Now
Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions