Free games: For Honor gets another free weekend | PCGamesN

Free games: For Honor gets another free weekend

Subscribe to PCGamesN on YouTube

Update, April 26, 2018: For Honor will go temporarily free once again on May 3.

Ubisoft have been working to bring For Honor back from a slow trajectory post-launch, and they’ve got a new event coming up to let you check out the fruits of their labours. For Honor will get another free weekend very soon, offering full access to the entire game.

You'll probably want a good controller for For Honor - here's some of the best PC controllers you can pick up

The free weekend kicks off on PC on May 3 at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 17:00 GMT, concluding on May 6 at 13:00 PDT / 16:00 EDT / 20:00 GMT. Pre-loads will be available starting May 1 at midnight PDT, so you can be fully prepared for the sword-slinging action as soon as it kicks off.

There don’t appear to be any meaningful limitations to the free weekend, with every multiplayer mode, the 12 original heroes, and the story campaign all fully playable for the duration. New players can link up with veterans through the Warrior Training Program, which grants both some significant XP boosts for completing matches together.

If you like what you play, the game will be “up to 75% off” during the event, presumably depending on which version of the game you want to pick up. (For reference, the Starter Edition is regularly priced at $14.99 / £11.99 / €14.99 while the more fully-featured Standard Edition is $59.99 / £49.99 / €59.99.)

For Honor’s previous free weekend back in August brought the game’s best player counts since launch on PC, but many of them haven’t stuck around since. With new updates like dedicated servers in place, this promotion might have a more permanent effect on the game’s community going forward.

Original story, August 7, 2017: Ever thought about getting For Honor, but held off because you weren’t too sure if it was your sort of thing? Perhaps it just seemed a bit difficult to get into? Well, worry not - this coming weekend you'll be able to play For Honor for free on Uplay and Steam, so you can try out both its single-player campaign and multiplayer modes.

The free weekend is going to run from August 10-13, and you can start pre-loading it from August 8. On top of that, if you want to pick up the game as a result of the free weekend, it’s going to be on sale, too - perfect if you’ve been waiting for a price drop.

This is all ahead of the changes the game will get for Season 3, Grudge & Glory. We’ve covered the changes in that update, right here - you can expect them to arrive August 15. 

So, what are you waiting for? Go out and smash in the skulls of a few good-for-nothin’ knights. Nobody likes the knights*.

*If you’re a person who likes the knights: fight me. No throws, let’s do this.

GOTW
Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
WhiteCrow avatar
WhiteCrow Avatar
673
9 Months ago

Stinkin' up the place with desperation.

1