Killing Floor 2 Review

How scary are the zombies in Killing Floor 2?

602 days ago

The motion capture is magic. The way the zombies move is unsettlingly realistic. These zombies don't jog towards you with a canned animation. These zombies sprint with their arms flailing, they seize and shake and tremble. The choking, strung-out fury of a hundred zombies who smell you is captured perfectly in their desperate, mad howls. Blow an arm off and it's owner will be thrown, writing, to the ground and jerk to it's feet immediately in apparent blood-red rage and agony.

As far as video game zombies go, these are pretty freaking spooky.

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

Once you get used to them not so much, you still get the oshit oshit feeling when a fleshpound is careening after you

56
El Burrito (after 7 days 4 hours play time)

497 days ago

Moderately scary. This game isn't really out to scare you, but it can at times.

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

Pretty scary, aided by fluid animation and unsettling movement patterns. Some of the previously hokey enemies have received a bit more of a sinister brush up from the previous release.

92
Psycold (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

571 days ago

The Scrake and the Fleshpound can be pretty terrifying, when you get cornered it can be a scary experience, but as others said you do get used to it.

avatar

You

Now

How gory is Killing Floor 2?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

Gratuitous, and beautiful

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

I've had entire rooms turned into a red soaked viscera. The gore is intense but in a good way, that sort of classic horror movie gore where blood is blood and bisecting a zed leaves you with a screen full of gibs in zed time.

92
Psycold (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

571 days ago

There are other strictly horror games that push the gore and violence like Deadspace and The Evil Within, but Killing Floor 2 has realistic violence and damage, it is basically the successor to Soldier of Fortune 2's excellent damage system. Each enemy has actual layers of flesh, muscle and bone you can tear through, and if you have an Nvidia card, you can utilize Physx to increase the gore. I really hope to see the system implemented in other games, it would be really amazing in a realistic war game.

Crimeshot ♡ gamekeysworld.com (after 20 hours play time)

654 days ago

Really amazing Game
, good graphics and it goes bloody well even when recording 60 FPS videos

avatar

You

Now

How good are Tripwire Interactive at releasing regular updates?

56
El Burrito (after 7 days 4 hours play time)

497 days ago

Depends on what you mean by regular. In fact just no. There's nothing regular about it, I have no idea when the next update is going to be, but I know it's not going to be for months.

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

They are OK. They could be better with time, but the content they release is high quality and thoroughly enjoyable

Nejc (after 23 days 14 hours play time)

604 days ago

not so good

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

There was a bit of drought, recently they've been better, but time will tell if they stick to this release schedule.

avatar

You

Now

Should you buy Killing Floor 2 now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

I could easily recommend either way, its really up to preference. However it is a very finished feeling game for being early access

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

Honestly as it is now, it is better than most full released games. I'd buy it if you have a few friends willing to play this with you. Community isn't bad, but the experience is much more delightful listening to a friend shriek about being grabbed and a scrake is on the way.

avatar

You

Now

Have you bought anything in Killing Floor 2? How happy were you with your purchase?

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

They've done the microtransactions fairly nice, You can get items for free without spending a dime at the end of maps. Most everything that exists in the lock boxes save for the super rare golden stuff, drops in game as well.

Its rare, but if you don't want to shell out the cash, its still possible to get things. The steam community market listings for many things are dirt cheap.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Killing Floor 2?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

Exceedingly fun, every weapon is massively satisfying to dispatch horrible monsters with. especially in zed time

602 days ago

Great. There are a few games that I seek out because I want to hold a gun; I want to pull the bolt and watch fire reflect from the barrel, and I want it to buck and protest my grip. These guns are lovingly modeled, look heavy and imposing in your characters hands, and create lovely clouds of soot and produce sharp, meaty reports while remaining unique to each other and representative of their IRL counterparts.

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

I like everything but the marksman weapons. Mostly because both swat and commando are more reliable at being marksmen than the marksman.

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Killing Floor 2?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

It has excellent gunplay, difficulty, pace and dynamics. Hell yes

avatar

You

Now

How does Killing Floor 2 run on your PC?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

Much better than I thought, it has surprisingly low system requirements

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

Exceptionally well even on some of my older machines. My only warning is that it sometimes (often) takes a minute or so to boot up.

602 days ago

Oh, so awesome. I remember being able to run Killing Floor The Mod on a potato, and this is no different. It's not so absurdly light as its predecessor, but this game scales in an exemplary way. With the graphics stripped, it will run on an 8800GT with no problem. With the graphics cranked to their beautiful peak, proper hardware will create stunning visuals without breaking a sweat.

92
Psycold (after 3 days 3 hours play time)

571 days ago

Runs well even on older machines and decent laptops and scales up really well too, I run two GTX 970's with 32gb of DDR4 and an i7 6700k and with my 75hz monitor, it never drops below 75fps.

avatar

You

Now

How does Killing Floor 2 reward teamplay?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

See below

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

If your on solo, run and gun, if you stay still or get cornered you're seriously in trouble. In team play, watch your buddies backs and stay with the group. the amount of zeds scales, more players, more zeds. Also, pay attention, if zeds are spilling out from an unwatched area make sure you do your part and watch it.

Beta_747 Avatar
3
Beta_747(14 days 15 hours played)
1 Year ago
This is the only way to survive as a team or solo. Also applies to the previous question
1
avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Killing Floor 2?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

Perfectly illustrates bloody evisceration 10/10

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

They are good, nicely detailed without being so resource intensive that it chugs your machine due to the density of enemies.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Killing Floor 2?

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

Brilliantly realistic, regarding gun sounds, and extremely satisfying regarding bullet impact and melee

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

The sounds are one of this games strength.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Killing Floor 2 after many hours of playing

30
Nari (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

343 days ago

Yes, playing this game with friends is super relaxing, I honestly wish I had more horde mode game options like this.

Why do gamers keep coming back to Killing Floor 2

3
Beta_747 (after 2 days 5 hours play time)

655 days ago

Its just so goddamn fun and satisfying

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions