No Man's Sky Review

How much freedom does No Man's Sky give you?

PhantasmalGhost (after 1 day 1 hour play time)

436 days ago

So far, I have done things I wanted to do, discovered things I am still amazed over, learned very interesting things, seen amazing sights, and I hardly even moved! I can't wait to see what lies beyond the horizon... Finding the first Volatile behaving creature was very exciting, as with all else. Managing resources is challenging, completing things as well... it is encompassing.

1

320 days ago

I died from boredom playing this game. I have come back from the dead to warn others, the pathway to Hell is paved with hours of No Man's Sky. If you hate someone in your family who is a gamer, give them this game for Christmas.

5
Mr Cover Up (after 1 day play time)

438 days ago

Possibly too much.

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

Absolute. Apart from a very short tutorial, which you can pretty much ignore, you are the master of your journey into the unknown. Or not. Progress, or don't. Unlock more tech, or bigger ships, or don't. Spend five minutes on each planet, exploring as much of the universe as you can, or spend days at a time on each planet. It's all up to you.

Hand holding is not on display here. Apparently 'gamers' have completely forgotten how to play anything that isn't on rails. There is so much to do, and so much to see and experience in this game. But you have to actually discover it. It's not going to just happen to you automatically.

437 days ago

Tons, exactly that.

FabledJunkyard (after 6 hours play time)

437 days ago

As much freedom as you want. Your journey is completely yours. Nothing tells you what to do or where to do it. Your actions are yours... your future is yours.

6

292 days ago

None, it makes you a mining slave

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

Someone once told me to much of a good thing is bad and there is too much freedom.

1
Asimov (after 9 hours play time)

436 days ago

Very much enjoying it. Some issues but nothing serious.

JMiles2 Avatar
90
1 Year ago
You only played it for 9 hours when you wrote that. The problem starts after about 50 hours... it gets super repetitive.
1
1
Harley (after 1 day 9 hours play time)

356 days ago

game itself is meh, but the fact thet it's s scam product advertised to have complex physics that it doesnt even come close to having, they didnt even try to add ANY kind of physics os simulations, that's infuriating, all videos and shots of the ame are simply not of the game, just read 'one man's lies' it's an article with proof about the scam the game is, never, ever trust HelloGames or sean murray, they are scammers under judicial investigation for false advertising, i'm boycotting everything they ever release

bLackdarK! (after 1 day 15 hours play time)

340 days ago

uninstall and refund

32
Turrican (after 15 hours play time)

433 days ago

There's freedom but not a great deal you can do with it

JMiles2 Avatar
90
1 Year ago
What freedom? You can't even create anything in this game, no ship, no building, nothing. You can only buy or fix a ship. The only things you can "create" or upgrades.
0
Draxonfly (after 1 day 22 hours play time)

419 days ago

Great fun, feel like a true space explorer

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

A great deal, but with no direction or guidance to go with it

91

438 days ago

A lot of freedom but in a rather empty world when you've seen almost the same thing over and over again. I won't mention more than this but you'll get bored pretty quick with the "freedom" that it allows as you just don't get to see all that much different from your initial few hours of play time.

It's good if you're just relaxing with it but bad if you're expecting something different the further you progress.

JMiles2 Avatar
90
1 Year ago
What freedom? You can't even create anything in this game, no ship, no building, nothing. You can only buy or fix a ship. The only things you can "create" or upgrades.
1
3
dstarr83 (after 8 hours play time)

438 days ago

Amazing game. Loving it loads!

avatar
250

432 days ago

It's a lackluster game that is missing quite a bit of content, stripped out of it before the launch. What we got is nothing like what they kept talking about for years. I blame it on consoles, obviously the game(internally) probably has all those features they were talking about. I'm certain it's a PC version of the game, consoles holding it back. I'm sure it wouldn't be in their best interest to release one version(PC) of the game far superior to the others(consoles). It's a 5/10 for me, way too pricey. If they sold it at $20 or so, I would have given it a 7/10 because of what it is.

avatar

You

Now

What is the future like in No Man's Sky?

5
Mr Cover Up (after 1 day play time)

438 days ago

Lots and lots of nothing.

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

Space. It's big. I mean, really big. I mean, it's so incredibly, mindbogglingly huge you can't possibly comprehend it. Some planets are virtually lifeless.

You may be supersized to find that some people get bored of those planets.

Then you find another, so mindbogglingly different and alien, you could wonder if you were still playing the same game. Teaming with life, and danger, and reward. Of course, you could just stay on the boring worlds like so many people seem to do, or give up and ask for a refund. Who am I to judge?

What about this future? An ancient mystery. Three Waring factions, with a history much older than ours. A plague of self entitled police robots, or the saviors of the galaxy, depending on how you see it.

There is a lot going on in this future. But it's not on display, you have to go out and find the mysteries, learn about the aliens, and seek the answers. Master chief is not going to blow anything up. Nathon Drake is not going to accidentally save the day.

But you can do what ever you want.

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

Very, Very Empty

6

292 days ago

About as bright as Sean Murray'a future by this point

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

Well im playing Pulsar Lost Colony which is better and its a open beta, hahaha

FabledJunkyard (after 6 hours play time)

437 days ago

The future is entirely based off what Hello Games adds to the universe.

avatar

You

Now

What strategies have you learned to survive in No Man's Sky?

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

Firstly, find a planet you like. Don't just settle on the first boring moon you find and rule the game boring and lifeless because of it. Don't settle for the second or third, either, if that happens to you. Find an amazing planet and then stay a while.

Grenade the sentinels in the face.
Use bash + jetpack to travel much faster when on foot.
Find crashed ships, which you can salvage for yourself. You will only get one more inventory slot at a time, and will have to repair the ship, but it's much more fun than grinding money to buy a new one.

So much emergent gameplay has happened to me in finding the resources to repair the crashed ships. Just do it on planets you really like. Also got a few good multitools as a bonus.

Most importantly (and this should apply to anything you are doing in the game) Once it becomes too easy, or you've settled into a repetitive routine, do something else. Find another planet, or switch to finding ruins and learning the languages.

I shouldn't have to tell anyone this, but clearly people have to be told things: Don't create your own grind! There is way too much fun to be had in this game to be cornering yourself into a boring routine and blaming the game.

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

When the sentrys are on you, kill them quick before they summon help.

jocloud31 Avatar
2
jocloud31(16 hours played)
1 Year ago
You can also run into a nearby building. They'll never follow you in and will eventually give up.
1
91

438 days ago

Run while using shift and then just before you deplete your stamina use the jetpack (space by default). Use short bursts so that you don't gain too much height and then when you've landed repeat with Shift again to run with your newly refreshed stamina. Keeps you moving "faster" when the standard walk speed is slower than my granny walking without her walker...

jocloud31 Avatar
2
jocloud31(16 hours played)
1 Year ago
Even faster is hitting a melee attack and then using the jetpack. When you do a melee attack (q by default), your character will take off on a short dash that's even faster than the sprint. If you use the jetpack in the middle of that dash, you'll get a super quick horizontal burst that'll carry you a LONG way. It's by far the fastest way to travel when not in your ship.
1
14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

Mine, rinse and repeat.

6

292 days ago

Using the refund button

avatar

You

Now

How open is No Man's Sky to explore?

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

Entire randomly gen'd galaxies. Not always full of much that is interesting. But this at least wasn't just hype.

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

There is no measurement on the scale for this. In the future, people will use this game as a reference point when describing the openness of other games.

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

Very but also at the same time where are the worlds that have no life at all or anything just a gas giant.

jon_hill987 Avatar
145
jon_hill987(14 hours played)
1 Year ago
I have found several dead worlds, little atmosphere, just rocks.
1
6

292 days ago

It kept crashing so not very

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for No Man's Sky?

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

HAH! ahaha. Oh you were serious. There isn't any.

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

It's a single player game...

5
Mr Cover Up (after 1 day play time)

438 days ago

Same sort of activity you'd find in any other game that can only be played by one person.

FabledJunkyard (after 6 hours play time)

437 days ago

Unknown...... I don't even know if it's possible?

32
Turrican (after 15 hours play time)

433 days ago

Hahaha

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

0, Zip, Nada, Bankrupt, Empty

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in No Man's Sky?

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

Decent. Very future-y.

5
Mr Cover Up (after 1 day play time)

438 days ago

Pretty sweet, got to say the soundtrack is one of my favourite parts and the sound design is spot on.

FabledJunkyard (after 6 hours play time)

437 days ago

I love the music. Best part of the experience. This is the first Game Soundtrack that I've been even interested in buying or listening to.

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

With headphones, spectacular. The soundtrack and the sound design blend quite seamlessly. It is quite easy to lose yourself in this game visually and audibly.

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

I want to use my own music, and yeah no support there.

32
Turrican (after 15 hours play time)

433 days ago

Very nice atmospheric and unobtrusive score

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in No Man's Sky?

32
Turrican (after 15 hours play time)

433 days ago

Very nice. The colours are very often particularly lovely

FabledJunkyard (after 6 hours play time)

437 days ago

Stylized, so if that is your thing then it is fantastic. If you are expecting ultra realistic graphics then go find another game (Elite: Dangerous or Star Citizen).

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

Decent. The art style carries it. Pop in is atrocious though.

5
Mr Cover Up (after 1 day play time)

438 days ago

Good, sometimes better than good, but by Harambe the pop in is AWFUL.

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

Truthfully average. By most people's definitions of "graphics."

However, it is stylized with massive aplomb and flare. I think it is a work of art, and like all stylized artistic games, it will still look just as good as it does 10 to 20 years from now, when all the "realistic graphics" of today look like trash.

You will find places, and moments, and you will be in awe that what you are seeing was not "made" by an artist, but by the algorithms of an artist.

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

Good but I think its not enough.

6

292 days ago

Nothing like the trailers

avatar

You

Now

How does No Man's Sky run on your PC?

6

440 days ago

it doesn't. Thanks to Hello Games purposely leaving out 4a processor support. I wouldn't have purchased the game and upgraded my video card if I would have known this. I'm giving them a few days and if there is no workable hotfix I'm giving up. My CPU is worth keeping.

6

292 days ago

It didn't...kept crashing within minutes of launch. Refunded it

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

ran fine after some initial start up hiccups, i7 w/ nvidia 970

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

Could be better. I haven't had the issues some people have, and my laptop is not a beast, but it is quite capable. The game runs well enough, but I did drop the resolution and some settings to reduce stuttering.

It feels like optimization problems. We'll see how it handles after a patch or two.

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

works but then at times it shudders and I must restart.

FabledJunkyard (after 6 hours play time)

437 days ago

Mine runs great on high with an i7-2600k & GTX 970. Stays at 60 FPS with a few dips down into the 40's.

32
Turrican (after 15 hours play time)

433 days ago

I have a gaming laptop that is three years old and by and large the game runs well but there are occasional pauses

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a No Man's Sky sale?

5
Mr Cover Up (after 1 day play time)

438 days ago

I spent $218 on the Explorer's Edition because I love spaceships and evidently have more money than sense.

637
TsunamiWombat (after 2 hours play time)

441 days ago

WAIT. Do not spend more than 30 dollars

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

Should of refunded it, If I stole it from someone I would have given it back to them.

6

292 days ago

Don't buy it at all

107
monkeyfritz (after 19 hours play time)

438 days ago

Would buy again at full price. Unlike many, apparently I actually have eyes and ears and knew what this game was when i pre-ordered it and was in no way disappointed. Even knowing, it still blew my mind. Prior to hearing about this for the first time, I didn't expect a game like this to actually be made for another decade or two.

Lachlan Avatar
6
9 Months ago
Those trailers don't match the gameplay at all. Poor review
1
32
Turrican (after 15 hours play time)

433 days ago

This game is really not worth the full price - wait, I wish I had

avatar

You

Now

What are gamers first impressions of No Man's Sky

FabledJunkyard (after 6 hours play time)

437 days ago

Playing and having a ton of fun... it's so addicting! I find myself continually saying this is the last point of interest that I'm going to hit before bed... then 6 points of interest later and 1.5 hours later...... I'm still playing.

What do gamers think of No Man's Sky after many hours of playing

14
7CavSSGSparksN (after 10 hours play time)

438 days ago

Not anymore as its getting to the point of been there done that and got the damn Tshirt.

32
Turrican (after 15 hours play time)

433 days ago

It's ok but i feel that you see all the game has to offer within a few hours and then you're just doing the same thing. It gets dull very fast.

Why do gamers keep coming back to No Man's Sky

107
monkeyfritz (after 3 days 4 hours play time)

430 days ago

Wanderlust.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions