Free games: Overwatch’s latest free weekend is now underway

overwatch free weekend anniversary

Overwatch just met its second anniversary, and there’s no better way to celebrate than a free weekend. You’ll once again be able to take Blizzard’s hero shooter for a test drive, with full access to every hero and map in a selection of modes for the duration.

The free weekend just began, and will run until May 28 at 23:59 PDT – or May 29 at 2:59 EDT / 6:59 BST, if you’re not tied to the western coast of the US. You’ll have access to Quick Play, Play vs. AI, Custom Games, and the Arcade. Mostly, that means no access to Competitive modes for free players.

Make friends and enemies alike with the best multiplayer games on PC.

As usual, all progress made during the free weekend will carry over if you decide to buy the full game, including level progression and whatever ever cosmetics pop from from the loot boxes you earn. The standard edition of Overwatch happens to be 50% off to mark the occasion, and there’s a slightly less significant discount on the refreshed legendary edition.

All this coincides with Overwatch’s Anniversary 2018 event, which offers the usual array of new skins and cosmetics as well as a new deathmatch map for your free-for-all enjoyment. A number of past brawls are also cycling through a daily rotation, which should give you some varied options while you’re playing for free.