Oxenfree Review

How good is the Oxenfree story?

3
Nillend (after 5 hours play time)

355 days ago

The story is presented through interacations between characters, which is spot on.

93
ZedClampet (after 4 hours play time)

532 days ago

It's all about the story, as there really are no puzzles or anything to work, and the story is excellent. It's kind of like a very well written horror movie.

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 4 hours play time)

359 days ago

As the previous reviewer said, the story is the game. Your interactions function only to progress the narrative, so clearly a great deal of attention has gone towards pacing that story properly and fleshing out its cast. By and large the dialogue is spot-on, landing its jokes and creating believable conversations. Very occasionally it falls victim to the same evils as Life is Strange's slightly off youth slang.

avatar

You

Now

Will Oxenfree be keeping you up at night?

1
Rohit (after 3 hours play time)

105 days ago

No. The story is as spooky as a Saturday morning cartoons.

avatar

You

Now

What is the mystery at the centre of Oxenfree?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 4 hours play time)

359 days ago

A group of friends take a ferry over to Edward Island, a small former naval base, to get their drink on and get weird on the beach. The excitable Ren tells the others about certain locations that produce creepy audio anomalies when you use a CB radio near them. The group enter a cave and try it. Things take a turn for the supernatural when they do.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Oxenfree?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 4 hours play time)

359 days ago

The visuals didn't work completely for me. I like the stylised backgrounds, and don't mind the low-detail character models, as separate entities, but I don't think they gel together that well. It's a shame - there's some nice design evident in the menus, typefaces, map and... anomalies, but the character models keep harking back to old PSP RPGs. Speech bubbles and all.

3
Nillend (after 5 hours play time)

355 days ago

The graphics don't push any limits, but it's stil visually very pleasing

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Oxenfree?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 4 hours play time)

359 days ago

A lot of hard work has gone into the array of strange and evocative radio sounds in this game. It's quite a unique soundscape - moments of '80s slasher movie synth score, radio static, ironic teenage banter, waves lapping against the shore. The sounds are good.

3
Nillend (after 5 hours play time)

355 days ago

Both voiceacting and ambient sounds are great. It makes up for the visuals

avatar

You

Now

How does Oxenfree run on your PC?

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 4 hours play time)

359 days ago

It's not very demanding at all. It'll run perfectly on any PC or laptop capable of running Windows. I had an annoying issue with dialogue, though - if I waited for characters to finish talking, I'd quite often miss my chance to reply because my own dialogue bubbles disappeared too quickly.

3
Nillend (after 5 hours play time)

355 days ago

It should run on almost any computer. One reason more to check out this game

avatar

You

Now

What are gamers first impressions of Oxenfree

93
ZedClampet (after 4 hours play time)

532 days ago

I completed the game in 4.5 hours.

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 4 hours play time)

359 days ago

I think I'm just about to finish it. I played through nearly the whole game in one sitting, and loved the atmosphere I found myself in.

How do gamers feel when they start playing Oxenfree

69
Phil Iwaniuk (after 4 hours play time)

359 days ago

I'm definitely nearing completion, so yep.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions