Path of Exile Review

Does Path of Exile allow for a good range of character builds?

avatar
51
holmesc (after 5 hours play time)

164 days ago

Excellent

aplexa (after 96 days 9 hours play time)

43 days ago

Awesome / In this game you could build and use every weapon and skills / only specialisation is class-specific / You could play your own individually char.

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

This is where Path of Exile shines. Each character and class has a skill tree that's very reminiscent of the Sphere system from Final Fantasy. It's HUGE - it's impossible to activate every node, so you need to plan in advance where you want to devote your skill points.
Couple this with the skills and gem system, and you've got a recipie of near endless enjoyment. And of course, with each new content updates, a new slew if possibilities are added.

91
13th |UKCS| (after 15 hours play time)

218 days ago

The skill tree is HUGE! I really should have planned ahead where I pout my skill points in but I'm taking it one step at a time. Even then it feels like I can have a witch who focuses on summoning minions to aide her, or go down the route of elemental magic with another witch. Or even have a ranger more focused on magic attacks instead of firing a constant barrage of arrows

koal85 (after 26 days 14 hours play time)

106 days ago

so asome game . this is the best not like diablo 3 so bad

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in Path of Exile?

aplexa (after 96 days 9 hours play time)

43 days ago

Pure luck but this is good so. You could increase the rarity and quantity of possible loot drops by difficulty of maps

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

ARPGs thrive off RNG - your luck is mostly what determines your loot. Of course, upping the difficulty and creating deliberately hard maps will vastly increase that chance of finding sweet loot.

91
13th |UKCS| (after 15 hours play time)

218 days ago

Its going to be RNG as its a ARPG. Upping the difficulty or playing as part of a group will give you better items. Even then you'll find yourself soon getting overloaded with loot

avatar

You

Now

How does Path of Exile make you feel powerful?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

Like any ARPG, you gain power through leveling up and finding new items. But I think feeling powerful in Path of Exile originates from the death animations of all the hundreds of enemies. Some ragdoll across the map, others will fall to the ground with a satisfying thud. My favourite ones are the ones that burst into a mist of red blood.

I think I need help.

91
13th |UKCS| (after 15 hours play time)

218 days ago

I created a ranger who didn't get their 1st death until after they had killed wave after wave of enemies. For the longest time it felt like nothing was going to take them down. Pretty sure if it wasn't for the lag, they would still be going through the game with 0 deaths.

aplexa (after 96 days 9 hours play time)

43 days ago

Its an rpg / its the mechanic to equip enchant etc to feel more powerful than before

avatar

You

Now

Does Path of Exile feel grindy?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

Again, with any ARPG it's all about the end game, and how it can keep you interested once you've seen all the story content. Similar to Diablo III's Rift system, Path of Exile has 'maps'. These items have their own specific affixes, which affect the zone they spawn upon use. It may be that you experience a constant health drain while inside, or that every enemy explodes on death. The best part is you can reroll the affixes as many times as you'd like, and the harder you make them, the more loot you get!

aplexa (after 96 days 9 hours play time)

43 days ago

No, but every map is different / is an rng enchant of the map you enter

avatar

You

Now

How fair is the free-to-play model in Path of Exile?

aplexa (after 96 days 9 hours play time)

43 days ago

Absolute Free to play !!! Only cosmetic purchases

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

There's no pay-2-win here - everything is cosmetic or utility only. Weapon and armour skins, bank space, mini pets and alternate visual effects for abilities are what'll you'll find in the shop. Nothing that directly effects the game and others around you, and that's what's important.

91
13th |UKCS| (after 15 hours play time)

218 days ago

There us no p2w anywhere in the game. You can buy cosmetic items, extra bank space. But nothing you can buy will give you an advantage in the game. Which is a very fair model.

avatar

You

Now

Have you bought anything in Path of Exile? How happy were you with your purchase?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

I bought some weapon and armour skins. They can be applied to any of your items, multiple times. Since they don't run out, I'm quite happy with the purchase.

aplexa (after 96 days 9 hours play time)

43 days ago

Yes different supporter packs. Im happy with that

avatar

You

Now

How bleak is Path of Exile?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

Whatever character/class you decide to play in Path of Exile has usually been exiled for the wrong reasons. Coupled with the fact that most die on the island, usually by the many horrors lie within, I'd say it's pretty damn bleak.

avatar

You

Now

How imaginative is the Path of Exile lore?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

It's certainly imaginative, but it can be quite stiff at times. I often found myself having to look up certain aspects of it online to make sense of it all. Come characters and their motives are hardly explained, and I'm not sure if that's on purpose or not.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in Path of Exile?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

PVP does exist in a Path of Exile, but I've not personally bothored to play it. I prefer to pit my wits against the monsters.

avatar

You

Now

How grindy is PvE in Path of Exile?

91
13th |UKCS| (after 15 hours play time)

218 days ago

It is a little grindy even then I'm finding myself levelling up fairly quick. After a couple hours of play a day and I reached level 20 with my latest character

avatar

You

Now

How does Path of Exile run on your PC?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

It runs perfectly fine on my PC (i7 4770k, GTX 780 Ti SLI, 16GB RAM). One issue I do see now and again that irks me isn't to do with your PC performanxe, but rather the servers - sometimes you ca experience significant de-sync, which can cause you to lag out. It's a rare occurrence, but if you play hard core like me, it can easily lead to your unjustly demise.

aplexa (after 96 days 9 hours play time)

43 days ago

Perfect / (i7 37..k, gtx660, 8gb ram) / only in 6 player party with MANY spam skills and effect its a little bit laggy

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Path of Exile?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

Gorgeous, as long as you enjoy a barrage of dark and bleak environments. You wouldn't even be able to tell that this was a kick starter game unless someone told you. I actually enjoy the art style more than Diablo III, mainly because it reminds me of Diablo I and II.

Funny that.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Path of Exile?

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

I found that all the music fitted the various environments and their atmosphere fantastically. It's a dark and grimy game, and the developers have managed to capture that essence perfectly. Plus, all the voice acting is also top-notch, as well as the SFX from your spells and abilities.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers stop playing Path of Exile after playing for many hours

359
Nick Wilson (after 1 day 21 hours play time)

783 days ago

Diablo III happened. This isn't to say Path of Exile is a bad game, not at all. I just have more friends that play Diablo III than Path of Exile, and I enjoy playing ARPGs most when I'm with friends.

What do gamers think of Path of Exile after many hours of playing

91
13th |UKCS| (after 15 hours play time)

218 days ago

I'll admit I tried to play diablo 3 after playing a few hours of path of exile. Within about 10 minutes I went back to path of exile. As it feels like I've got more choice in how to develop my character

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions