Rainbow Six Siege Review

How good an FPS is Rainbow Six Siege?

83

495 days ago

Siege is a truly excellent shooter. It's guns are punchy, heavy, and each one feels distinctly individual. Movement feels weighty and real. The highly destructive nature of the maps means there's a whole new angle to combat, with walls being broken, peep-holes being created, defences assembled, and new tactics being developed.
The variety of operators means there's a great selection of elements to be mastered. Each operator has a unique gadget, and it's fun to discover the various approaches that can be taken with each one. In some ways, theres'a bit of a MOBA influence: part of the game is learning how to use operators, and how best to tackle their unique contributions. (Knowing, for example, that a trap-setter is on the enemy team, you need to check every door you enter for wires).
Above anything else, Siege has a layer of tension that few other FPS games deliver. The big counter that flashes 4v5, 4v4, 3v4 and so on as the team members are gradually picked off adds a fun level of stress, and reminds you that mistakes are costly.

423 days ago

R6 Siege is, as far as anyone looking for a tactical, team-based PvP shooter should be concerned, the pinnacle available today. Past Rainbow Six titles were always a blast because they required more of players than just being twitchier than the next guy.

Winning a match requires forethought, planning and precise execution. Above all of that, however, come communication. A team of 5 that is voice-chatting will win 9/10 times versus a team that is full of mute ciphers.

Solo, the game is fun. With friends it knocks everything from Call of Duty and Counter-Strike to Borderlands well out of the park.

And then there are the destructible environments. Floors, walls, doors, windows, ceilings; it's all fair game. Add to that the amazing sound Ubisoft incorporated into Siege, and you'll have firefights taking place vertically and horizontally through walls, floors and ceilings.

A wide range of unique-feeling guns allows for massive versatility on the field. Operator gadgets allow each player to bring a unique skill to bear in helping their team to victory, be it EMP grenades to disable the opponents gadgets or bear traps to catch unsuspecting enemies.

Non-regenerative health and a single life forces caution and wariness. A single mistake can lose your team the match. But with high risks come high rewards. Single-kill headshots mean no fight is ever unwinnable. Plenty of level-headed players have clutched 4v1's with less than a minute on the clock against uncoordinated or overconfident opposition.

Rainbow Six: Siege is full of so much variety that no match ever plays out the same. Ubisoft went above and beyond with this tactical FPS that is not to be missed for competitive Counter-Strike fans and FPS gamers alike.

12

530 days ago

As an FPS it's more Battlefield than it is Call of Duty - which is a good thing, IMHO. The hit detection does seem a little off right now but hopefully it's something that is being worked on over at Ubi. Generally, there's a few frustrations, but it feels quite solid.

92
Psycold (after 16 hours play time)

529 days ago

Yes. I would say it borders on greatness, however it is held back by some Uplay connection issues. The issues seem sporadic but it isn't uncommon to be waiting for 3-4 minutes before you can find players, sometimes longer.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 19 hours play time)

28 days ago

Siege is a really fun game at some point. I really enjoy the game, just that I am not that good at it and people are sometimes just assholes. I really like the game playing it with friends, but playing with other people or ranked is pretty hard. I never know what I am doing or what to do. I die fast, but I love playing.

Aloisia FrozenHeart (after 22 hours play time)

146 days ago

innovative

avatar

You

Now

How does Rainbow Six Siege reward you for playing tactically?

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

If you play tactical, you win. People just don't want to cooperate.

12

530 days ago

Tactical play = wins. That's it.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Rainbow Six Siege?

12

530 days ago

The weapons are OK, there's some customisation to each, silencers, sights, skins, etc.. but it would have been nice to have more, maybe even more to unlock as you level. You can feel the difference in the guns.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Every weapon is somewhat fun. They all have their advantages and some don't.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Rainbow Six Siege?

12

530 days ago

So so, I've never been involved in a secret operations team, so I couldn't comment ;)

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Someone gets a headshot, you die.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in Rainbow Six Siege?

83

495 days ago

The PvP community for Siege is really busy, which is pretty good since it's entirely multiplayer. The game has an appeal that's extended past that initial few weeks after launch, and I think thanks to it's fairly individual approach to multiplayer shooting it has the potential to be a mainstay.
Less active is the co-op Terrorist Hunt mode, which doesn't always have a large amount of players at all times of the day. Getting into the core 5v5 matches is never a problem though.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

I can make butter chicken for how long I wait for some game

423 days ago

In Australia, 1pm onward is the time to play midweek. The evenings and nights are the best, however, as the community comes to life then.

Casual PvP matches are easy to get into, usually taking less than 20 seconds to get in-game during peak hours of play.

Ranked PvP has longer waits, even during peak-play times. Expect 4-10 minutes in queue (and that's if you have a full squad already, which I wouldn't suggest playing competitive without). However, the stakes are higher and the rewards greater in Ranked. Definitely more fun than casual.

Terrorist Hunt is a cooperative mode that is, obviously, best played with friends. Even a two-man squad with each player being familiar with the game is enough to have a blast in Terrorist Hunt. I'm less familiar playing Terrorist Hunt with strangers, so I can't comment on queue times. But it is an amazing mode with friends.

avatar

You

Now

How does Rainbow Six Siege reward teamplay?

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

If you stick with your team and don't run out just to get killed, pretty sure you could possibly get wins if you can counter what they have on their team

avatar

You

Now

How active is the competitive scene in Rainbow Six Siege?

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Never played it much, but people are really ballsy on it.

avatar

You

Now

How fun is it to smash things in Rainbow Six Siege?

12

530 days ago

The destruction in Siege is pretty fun as there's a number of ways to break a lot of the surfaces. Which makes it even more fun is trying to counter those ways to smash surfaces whilst on defence.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Sledge and Thermite are bae

avatar

You

Now

Would Tom Clancy approve of Rainbow Six Siege?

83

496 days ago

Probably not, because Tom Clancy was a man who wrote stories, and Rainbow Six: Siege doesn't have a story. He'd be sad that there wasn't any over-convoluted, international terrorism plot that only one improbably-talented agent could foil.
He'd love the guns though. Phoar, there's a lot of military hardware here. All realistic and what-not.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

I never really knew Tom Clancy, just knew the game was supposed to be tactical and this is just probably not what he wanted.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Rainbow Six Siege?

83

495 days ago

It's a Ubisoft game, so not as good as when it was revealed at E3!
Regardless, it's a good looking game. It's not going to blow you away, but it stands up the expectations of a 2015 game, and there's nothing that looks ugly or out-of-place. Environments are detailed, guns have scrapes and dinks in them, and the operators have good textures on their clothing.

423 days ago

Standard next-gen affair with extra emphasis on weapon effects and environmental destruction. The physics are also top notch. Siege achieves the very realistic feel Ubisoft wanted.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Never played over high so, good for all low settings

12

530 days ago

Siege looks nice, it can look a little rough at times, but when you're that focussed on the action, the graphics tend to become unapparent.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Rainbow Six Siege sale?

83

495 days ago

It's easy to think Siege isn't worth the price on the box because it's 'just' multiplayer, but after playing hours and hours of the game, I think there's more than enough here to pay full game price for. There are a large amount of maps, a solid variety of game modes, and a learning curve that seems to continue on and on. There's many, many hours of fun to be had in Siege. That will extend as the year goes on and free maps are added to the game: the player base will not be split by DLC.

423 days ago

Ask yourself: what percentage of players buy Call of Duty for the Singleplayer?

This issue is the biggest joke. Even if there were a campaign, most would ignore it. Sure, 15-20% might start it and 5-10% might even finish it. But most people, like they do CoD (another AAA title with a multiplayer focus and tacked on campaign), jump into the multiplayer for the joy and challenge of competing against fellow humans.

Well worth the $60 in my opinion and the additional $30 for the Season Pass if you don't want to grind for the new operators. I bought it solely to support the devs. The more quality content we get, the more I'll gladly contribute to them. This game deserves all the money and support it can get.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Wait, it's really hard to play if you are new to the game. I played until level 15 to play pvp because I thought it was hard but that is only me.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Rainbow Six Siege?

423 days ago

Having poured over 50 hours into both Black Ops III and Counter-Strike: Global Offensive and 80+ into Siege, it is fair to say that Siege has superior sound.

Using your ears allows you to know where an enemy is, how far away they are and even what armour type unit they are. Shield units are the heaviest and clunk loudly, lighter units step lightly but still audibly.

Well done, Ubisoft.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Good compared to some other games

83

495 days ago

Sound design in Siege is superb: it's a real asset to knowing where enemies are. Things like barbed wire will rustle as players climb through it, so you can actively use items to have sound aid you in the fight. Guns go bang, explosives go boom, and debris clatters around as your ears ring. The operators have a fun collection of accents, too.

avatar

You

Now

How does Rainbow Six Siege run on your PC?

83

495 days ago

No issues at all on my rig: i7 3770k 3.5ghz CPU, 16GB RAM, and an ATI Radeon HD 7970. Running smooth at high settings.

423 days ago

90~ Frames Per Second on full settings on an i5 4590 3.3ghz CPU, 8GB RAM, 2GB GTX 960. Installed on a SSD.

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

Pretty good fps running on all low.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers keep coming back to Rainbow Six Siege

12
The DJ (after 2 days 20 hours play time)

19 days ago

I love it because of the operators and how much fun it is to get kills or killing your teammates

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions