Shroud of the Avatar: Forsaken Virtues Review | PCGamesN

Shroud of the Avatar: Forsaken Virtues Review

Should you buy Shroud of the Avatar: Forsaken Virtues now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

77 days ago

Release 52 is only weeks away and will bring quite a few things none have yet experienced. I say dive in now and get your feet wet. It is a bit of a complex game, but I find it right up my ally. I have been playing since R1 and have been through it all. I think they have come leeps and bounds over any review you may have read from anywhere longer than a month or 2 ago. Try it for free and make up your own mind.

1
michael_berg (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

359 days ago

If you want to play it, wait until R44, because all main 3 main paths wil be inside the game and a lot of quests.
If story and questing isn't interesting for you - well, go on playing ;)

avatar

You

Now

How good are Portalarium at releasing regular updates?

77 days ago

Have never missed any of their monthly releases since they started. Have some things been pushed back? Definitely usually only by a release. They are also quite adept at fixing any major bugs that hit with the currently release within hours and over the next couple of days. Then on to work on the next release.

avatar

You

Now

Would you back another game by Portalarium?

77 days ago

Absolutely , if it were the type of games I play. I

avatar

You

Now

How has Portalarium delivered on their crowdfunding goals?

77 days ago

Yes they have. Their are those that will contend that the game has changed from what their own expectations of what the ame would be. Portalarium has done a fine job listening to their player base and reacting to it. Not everyone will agree or be happy. Happens with evey game out there. I'm very happy to have supported this game oer the last 5 years. Loving that it is finally "launching" and then setting our sights on Episode 2.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Shroud of the Avatar: Forsaken Virtues give you?

1
michael_berg (after 1 day 19 hours play time)

359 days ago

I played more of time as named above in Steam, because most time I start direct and not over steam.

The game gives a lot of challenges. 3 main story paths. 4th will come next months.

Beside this you can explore a lot of interesting things and craft a lot of stuff!

A great game, getting greater from month to month ...

77 days ago

Quite a lot. It is an interesting combination of an RPG and a sandlot MMO. One can also play it in offline mode that has no bearing on the online version. You can play online solo, grouped or in the Multiplayer option. You can make your character appear and be quite unique with their own combination of skill sets.

avatar

You

Now

How does Shroud of the Avatar: Forsaken Virtues compare to other MMOs?

77 days ago

I find it hard to compare it to straight up MMO's, it's not quite like them. It's in it's own niche with offline play and online play. It has various modes one can play in. It is definitely different and I wouldn't come in with expectations of matching other MMO styles

avatar

You

Now

How open is Shroud of the Avatar: Forsaken Virtues to explore?

77 days ago

Wide open. I have a couple of thousand hours played that are non-Steam. They are now finalizing any of there scenes that were "cloned" and have done an outstanding job updating and making beautiful scenes and an overland map for travel between the scenes. All scenes give you a good idea of what is in them and how hard they are.

avatar

You

Now