Star Citizen Review

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Star Citizen sale?

avatar
12

738 days ago

Star Citizen is in alpha. You can donate now for as little as 30USD but you are buying into the development process.

midimaker Avatar
137
2 Years ago
You can''t buy for $30, those were limited packages available only during the sale. It costs a minimum of $45 90% of the time.
-1
48

733 days ago

well seeing as its going to be $120 for both at some point... i.e. $60 each which is fair as the amount of game and quality of game should justify the price so picking it up now you can get SQ42 + SC for less than half price. If they release a physical copy which im pretty sure they will as theyve shown some amazing artwork for it ill buy it again just for that :D If its the same fold out covert art it will be worth it on its own

IggyPi Avatar
2
1 Year ago
45$ each, 65$ as pack
2
5

368 days ago

SALE? LOL
Steam crap too much PCGamesN? :D

17

155 days ago

Both. I don't expect prices to be reduced during sales though, but rather availability is better a few times a year for limited ships. Then there are often some rare bundle packages.

28

154 days ago

Beeing a crowfunded project, if you want to support it... better pledge now :) No need to spend hundreds, a "modest" 40 $is enough to get in.

121 days ago

Current price is lower than final.. so now!

9

46 days ago

Amazing game in production

avatar
137

738 days ago

I would buy before Jan 31st 2016 because the MMO and the single player are being split into two separate packages, if it interests you then buy in via the cheapest option now.

avatar

You

Now

Would you back another game by Cloud Imperium Games?

48

733 days ago

Well there going to have there hands full for a number of years yet with SQ42 follow up episodes and constant SC expansion so i think another CIG game will come very very far down the line. But maybe, all depends on what it is

17

155 days ago

Yeah, probably. It's a hypothetic question and I can't answer fully without knowing more about the other game, but I have no reservations to back this publisher.

28

154 days ago

Yes 100%

5

368 days ago

Absolutely YES

RAYfighter SK Avatar
5
1 Year ago
erm, if it's not going to be a RollerCoaster simulator...
1
avatar

You

Now

How has Cloud Imperium Games delivered on their crowdfunding goals?

17

155 days ago

They're getting there, slowly but surely. I have no doubt they'll fulfill their promises and deliver the crowdfunding goals (original Kickstarter plus Stretch Goals).

28

154 days ago

Most of them have been implemented already with a quality never seen elsewhere. project adjust based on backers requests and amount of pledges, hence the release date moving from initial date. Nothing weird quite the opposite as we got more for less per $

121 days ago

good based on current status

48

733 days ago

There getting through them 1 by 1 but the main goal which was the basis for the entire game is to go seamlessly from your space station into the vehicle, exit vehicle, eva, walk around inside a multicrew ship whilst someone else is flying it and have a little fight in it... well not tried that part yet hmm next on the list :d but based on that main goal id say they have truely delivered as without that the rest of the possibilities cant exist.

And at some point in the future seamlessly go down to planet to, it will still need a lot of work as its prototype and dunno about crysis level graphics as i understand procedural can be very hard to have amazing detail but it is a PC game with constant power upgrades so why not :D

avatar

You

Now

How hard is it to control ships in Star Citizen?

48

733 days ago

Its pretty easy, takes some delicate work coming in to land but it will have an auto landing option. Not sure if its implemented yet but it will be in so can use that

461 days ago

Basic control is very straightforward. The game does offer more advanced controls which allow for more maneuvers, but none of these are particularly complex either. New ships can fly a bit wonky due to the nature of the realistic mass and thruster effects, before the devs smooth out the fly-by-wire outputs.

2

551 days ago

easy as eating pie

avatar
77

455 days ago

Amazing

5

368 days ago

I wish it was harder. I mean - ships accelerate like crazy, but maybe it is because we mostly can fly just small, fast and nimble ships so far. Already with Starfarer i had this nice and heavy feeling of Newtonian physics. So yeah, flying ships in Star Citizen is very easy, and fun.
When they shot off your wing, you will CLEARLY feel that your flying computer is fighting with trying to turn your ship with just remaining few thrusters. There are no fucking stupid cheats like so common in all the other space sims...

17

155 days ago

It depends. Larger ships are more complex and have more tasks, which you often have to assign to other players. All in all, I'd say it a good balance between simulation and ease of use, but you must become familiar with the ship.

28

154 days ago

That is good. You can use KB + mouse or Hotas. Still Hotas are a bit more challenging as setup is not fully implemented (Alpha)

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are battles in Star Citizen?

48

733 days ago

well from the limited exposure we have atm its not to bad. I enjoy little skirmishes but the real good stuff will come with fleet battles, boarding others ships etc... cant get in the main entrance blow a hole in the side!!! get in that way and that is something that hasnt been done before i think (well unless its a scripted part of the game but not in the type of setting as SC where anything goes) so will bring a whole new of gameplay to the mix

5

368 days ago

In 2.6 the battles became even more fun imo. Less jousting, more dogfighting.
Btw, can I also reply the question "How much fun is reading PCGamesN" somewhere? And review this amazing utterly useless part of internet too?

17

155 days ago

Space combat is not really my cup of tea. I prefer non-combat tasks, such as exploring, trading, mining, salvaging, etc. I'm not a PvP-er but combat, as it is now in Star Citizen, can be fun in the future - when we get to fight Vanduuls.

28

154 days ago

Challenging if you think it is a shoot-them-up :) As soon you start to handle your ship it is a lot of fun. Beware that handling is not final due to Alpha state

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Star Citizen?

2

551 days ago

since 2.0, very fun to play with 24 people we often had a blast

avatar
137

738 days ago

Much more active since 2.0

48

733 days ago

more active since Alpha 2 because theres more to do... Cant wait for the nyx landing zone as it look incredible.

17

155 days ago

Becoming more and more active as the tools for gathering and multiplayer tasks are improving. We are just in the beginning and this will be fleshed out much more in the future.

28

154 days ago

Very active and more important, very friendly

121 days ago

very active

121 days ago

very active

avatar
12

738 days ago

Very active.

avatar

You

Now

Does the setting of Star Citizen feel original?

48

733 days ago

No its not original but what is these days? its how you execute what you do that makes it good. youve the big UEE spread throughout known space and then you have the big enemy the Vanduul, a warrior race set on the destruction of the UEE, who knows why... guess we'll find out in SQ42 :D

avatar
12

738 days ago

It does indeed. It's basically modelled after the late Western Roman Empire, but in space. There's a tonne of backstory already, as well as plenty of intrigue and depth.

17

155 days ago

Sure. As a student of History I recognized from the start it mimicing the last period of the Roman Empire, before the split into a western and eastern part, the Vanduuls are the Vandals, etc. So it's not a unique idea but an original adaption of a period on Earth, set in space.

28

154 days ago

Yes and by far one of the best space game to come!

121 days ago

yep and more

2

551 days ago

yes they do !

avatar
137

738 days ago

Not at all, it's pulling so many things from so many sci-fi games, films, books and tv shows that has gone before it. Virtualy zero originality.

Anaryl Avatar
12
2 Years ago
Bullshit.
1
midimaker Avatar
137
2 Years ago
No it's not. There's Battlestar, there's hitchikers, there's star wars, there's starship troopers, the list goes on and on. Originality has never been a Roberts thing.
-4
primal Avatar
48
2 Years ago
nothing is original anymore havnt you noticed? whether your inspired by something else or dig something up from the past people have seemingly forget but by now everything has been done before. Besides SC is based on the Roman Empire anyway. How is there HitchHikers in there?? unless you think the 42 is the meaning of life in squadron!!!
3
RAYfighter SK Avatar
5
1 Year ago
I found the frequent homages to various sci-fi legends actually quite original. And also the natural and often fun way how they are doing it. What's wrong with you?
1
avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Star Citizen?

48

733 days ago

Amazing... will be the best graphics in any online game of this size, only on PC you can have brilliant gameplay and amazing graphics. No compromises here

17

155 days ago

Excellent.

28

154 days ago

Amazing? I can't find another word. Stunning may be could be an option.

121 days ago

excellent!

2

551 days ago

brilliant for an alpha release !

avatar
137

738 days ago

Great on the whole but gameplay > graphics any day of the week.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Star Citizen?

48

733 days ago

sounds are pretty cool, there using Wwise now which will help with environmental sounds like in stations when your firing guns. As always theres always room for improvement but looking good

avatar
137

738 days ago

A mish mash, some sounds and music is great, some really not so good. Consistency is the real problem, ship alerts made by many voices is a bizarre design to say the least.

17

155 days ago

It's a good start. I like the orchestral music and the sounds effects they've implemented so far. But we've only seen the top of the iceberg regarding sound effects, NPC voices and dialogs, big ship sounds, etc. Then, player to player voice isn't in the game yet either. That's a big bit of the puzzle that I'm looking forward to.

28

154 days ago

Pretty good. Music is great and sounds are improving a lot with latest patch.

121 days ago

excellent!

avatar

You

Now

How does Star Citizen run on your PC?

avatar
12

738 days ago

Very well, considering it is an alpha. Test builds have performance issues, but those are voluntary test builds in which participation is mandatory

48

733 days ago

Not to good, its noticeably worse in stations on mine but its an alpha in which its the first time all the components (space flight, stations, FPS etc) are all plugged together so you expect performance problems till they iron everything out and start optimising... if it performed like that on release there would be much concern but at the moment its just fun to mess around in it.

17

155 days ago

Could be better, but playable. It's a combination of me using an older PC and many optimizations not done yet in the game. It'll improve when I get a new PC and the game is more finished.

28

154 days ago

Very well. I use an I5 x 4 cores 3.5ghz, 15Gb DDR-3, GTX 780 and SSD. Only PU does have lower FPS but it is because of current netcode. CIG is working on it.

avatar
137

738 days ago

Terribly, I get 20 fps with large pauses, stutters etc. Long way to go.

Anaryl Avatar
12
2 Years ago
Stop playing the game on your 5 year old laptop then. Nothing in your review is even remotely *truthful*. It's not just inaccurate, it's out and out falsehoods.
2
midimaker Avatar
137
2 Years ago
i5-3570K, 16GB RAM, GTX 780. Frame rate is a server side problem, this is commonly known. A lot of the pausing and stuttering is due to spawned pirates being broadcasted to all players even if they're not in the vicinity. CIG are recommending an i7 with its hyperthreading to get no pauses or stutters.
0
avatar

You

Now