Stardew Valley Review

How well does Stardew Valley compare to other farming games?

1
Aerilith (after 19 hours play time)

546 days ago

It's clear that Stardew Valley has drawn a lot of inspiration from other farming games - especially Harvest Moon - and I immediately noticed many similarities to Harvest Moon: Back To Nature, a personal favorite of mine.

Aside from the similarities it also brings a few great additions such as a combat system, a more extensive crafting system that allows for more automation on your farm and a large roster of characters and festivals for the player to interact with.

avatar
243

536 days ago

It's truly quite a game. While I wouldn't put it on the level of previous games, like harvest moon, however it does a fine job being quite entertaining to play. I've played it for well over 100 hours and several characters(this is really not needed, one character playthrough is more than enough). It has problems however like most games, just tiny things here and there, had a few nasty bugs at launch, one which caused my savegame to become corrupt(1.03).

96
ZedClampet (after 3 days 8 hours play time)

525 days ago

The only other farming game I've played is Farming Simulator 15, which is obviously a much more accurate representation of farming, but not nearly as fun. This has so much more to do than just farming.

JM FkN LoBo (after 38 minutes play time)

115 days ago

Is The Best Game So Far, Is Almost The Same As Harvest Moon From The Old Days But Even Better... I Bought It After Playing It For A While And I Have No Regrets!!!

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Stardew Valley give you?

1
Aerilith (after 19 hours play time)

546 days ago

Stardew Valley allows the player to pick and choose which professions they would like to prioritize - but most players will likely end up doing a fair bit of each to benefit from the synergy or solve the various requests that the villagers throw at you.

I've opted for a farming(crops) and dungeon exploring playstyle, but it seems perfectly viable to be a bee keeper or orchardist instead - I will explore these areas later on, and luckily the game encourages you to dive into all the options it offers.

96
ZedClampet (after 3 days 8 hours play time)

525 days ago

For the first in-game year, I was basically a fisherman who farmed a little on the side. Now into my second year, I'm a full-blown farmer. Stardew Valley has a lot of different ways to make money and different things to concentrate on during different days.

avatar

You

Now

Why does Stardew Valley feel retro?

1
Aerilith (after 19 hours play time)

546 days ago

Stardew Valley has a retro feel to it, both due to the somewhat simple art style and the great deal of inspiration it takes from past games in the Harvest Moon series and farming simulator genre.

avatar

You

Now

Is Stardew Valley nauseatingly cute?

96
ZedClampet (after 3 days 8 hours play time)

525 days ago

no

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Stardew Valley sale?

1
Aerilith (after 19 hours play time)

546 days ago

I already bought it at full price.

With the depth of the game and the amount of time you can spend playing it, I think it's well worth the full price if you're a fan of the genre.

96
ZedClampet (after 3 days 8 hours play time)

525 days ago

Full price

avatar

You

Now

How does Stardew Valley run on your PC?

1
Aerilith (after 19 hours play time)

546 days ago

Since the graphics aren't very taxing I imagine most people will be able to run it without issues.
I've not noticed crashes or other issues in running the game personally.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Stardew Valley after many hours of playing

1
Aerilith (after 19 hours play time)

546 days ago

I'm having a ton of fun!
When I started playing Stardew Valley I was instantly reminded of Harvest Moon: Back to Nature, which I used to play a lot on the playstation.

If you're a fan of these types of games, you'll most likely enjoy Stardew Valley as well.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions