Tabletop Simulator Review | PCGamesN

Tabletop Simulator Review

Would you prefer to play Tabletop Simulator as a board game, or on your PC? Why?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

I'm assuming the question means whether I would play a given game in real life rather than in tabletop simulator.

Yes. In most cases. But it's MUCH EASIER through tabletop simulator. You don't have to own the games, make sure all your friends can meet up at the same time, or wear clothes and yet still have a social gathering and play board games. What more could you want?

WarYore (after 10 hours play time)

905 days ago

Whoa... meta.... Would I rather play a game as a video game or a IRL board game whose entire purpose is to simulate IRL boardgames in video game form? Since Tabletop Simulator in and of itself doesn't actually have a "game" side to it - just offering the tools to play other games, I'd have to say I prefer it in its current form.

If you are just asking if I'd rather play the games *within* Tabletop Simulator on the PC or IRL - then I'd still have to say PC. There's a HUGE library of games available, a good number in the base game itself, but it is the Steam Workshop that opens the floodgates.

There's no way I'd ever be able to store all those games, much less organize them and set them up. Not to mention buying all the parts.

Plus, there's no clean up. No lost, broken, or missing parts to deal with. You can make infinite copies of parts you need (for more players, or extra in game money, or supplies or whatever) - you can make you own parts...

It's just a much better system. I still play IRL board games, and always will. I own dozens. In fact, I've bought a few after seeing them on Tabletop Simulator. But Tabletop Simulator opens a lot more possibilities.

Oh, and I didn't even talk about the fact that TTS lets you play online, so no need to coordinate a bunch of different people to physically be in the same place at the same time. It's great!

avatar
(after 5 days 4 hours play time)

680 days ago

Value for money is the only way I can describe this game. For £15 you can get a game that contains about 250 board games that, individually, would have probably cost you £40 each.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Tabletop Simulator to explore?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Physics based simulation of playing games on a table. Not much more exploring needed. But you're pretty free to spawn anything you could ever want on to the table.

avatar

You

Now

How free are you to build your own decks in Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Well seeing as you can basically make your own cards if you feel like it, or find ones made by others, you can pretty much build whatever decks you want.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Tabletop Simulator let you develop your character?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

There is no real character, unless we're talking about D&D :P
Well you can choose your corner of the table and your color.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

It's a simulation of playing games on a table. It's pretty much as realistic as it gets. It eve has pretty decent graphics for the relatively small amount of models it has on screed.

avatar

You

Now

Would you recommend any good Tabletop Simulator mods?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Cards against the humanity is a must-have. You can get the most out of Tabletop simulator with mods. Actually I've barely touched the original games.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the Tabletop Simulator mod scene?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

It's pretty huge. You can find almost any game you can think of in the workshop. That is absolutely the best part about the game.

avatar

You

Now

Should you buy Tabletop Simulator now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Seeing as it's completely functional an gets it's fun factor from the mods, which there are a lot of, I don't see why you should wait.

avatar

You

Now

How good are Berserk Games at releasing regular updates?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

I'm not sure how regular the updates are, but as I said it's completely functional and new games are added constantly by the community. It's not a big problem even if they are slow with the updates.

avatar

You

Now

Would you back another game by Berserk Games?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Tabletop simulator gets most of it's fun out of the community, but the core game is well made. They haven't impressed me too hugely, but i would definitely take a look at least.

avatar

You

Now

How has Berserk Games delivered on their crowdfunding goals?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

For the most part.

avatar

You

Now

What bits are on display? Boobs? Dongs? Erect or floppy? Give us details. LOTS OF DETAILS.

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

I don't know what the moderators would say about floppy dongs, but basically anything you can think of, thanks to the modding community.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Tabletop Simulator give you?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

You can do most of everything you can do on a real life table, at least concerning games. You can even flip the table in anger if you feel like you got cheated.

avatar

You

Now

How gory is Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Extremely brutal. At least when it comes to the complete wrecking of your friends in a high stakes poker tournament.

avatar

You

Now

How funny is Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

As funny as the people playing it. Also, it has Cards against humanity. Nuff' said.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

I didn't try to find any public servers. I assume there are some, but I assume it depends on how popular the game you want to play is. In my opinion the only real way to play it is with friends. So as active as they are.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

In a game like this, all that can be said about graphics is really: Good enough.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Fine. Nothing special.

avatar

You

Now

How does Tabletop Simulator run on your PC?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Absolutely fine and without problems that I can remember.
You can change the graphics settings to fit your PC. It's not a very taxing game.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

No clue. Played only on Windows 7.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Linux port of Tabletop Simulator?

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

No clue. Played only on Windows 7.

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Tabletop Simulator after many hours of playing

417
1N07 (after 14 hours play time)

1188 days ago

Sure was.