The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth Review

Is The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth intense?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

That's not a word I would use for it, but when you're cornered by various enemies or doing one of the more chaotic boss encounters, it does get like that. But it's never a thrillride for me, and the constant exploration and watching the RNG do its thing are more why I play it.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

Not all the time, and it depends on how the word "intense" is applied, but there WILL be some occasions where, depending on the character/conditions/etc., it can and will feel intense. CLUTCH PLAY!

blaidd (after 8 days 4 hours play time)

66 days ago

el juego esta muy bueno no tiene errores y la musica una maravilla

avatar

You

Now

How harsh is the RNG in The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

I don't think it's ever impossible, skill will triumph over most things, but a few bad runs in a row can feel very unfair, particularly if you're not great at dodging enemies. It's very rare that a good run will be 'ruined' by poor RNG and it's both technically possible and encouraged to try completing the game without items, or without ever taking a hit, so it's certainly not the biggest factor to having fun with the game. When it does have an impact, it's usually because it serves up something excellent, rather than something boring.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

I wouldn't say I find it harsh because you can keep restarting runs until you get a good first floor item. That helps to alleviate the pain somewhat. When it comes to the more difficult challenges though, that's where the RNG can potentially be very screwy in that regard. Still, if you are highly skilled at the game, even poor RNG-determined items should not matter so much.

avatar

You

Now

Is The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth grindy?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

No, in that every run is totally different and there's a massive swathe of options to choose from. However, if you're going for certain achievements - and again, aren't very good - it can take a long time to get a run that you manage to complete.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

Not usually - there are items to unlock with every character, and each run will feel fresh. It only really feels grindy if you're trying to collect all the items in the game, personally - since some of them can be ludicrously rare. Case in point - items like Godhead, Sacred Heart, etc. - you would need to rerun the game a few times and pray for the RNG to get you the item.

avatar

You

Now

Does The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth allow for a good range of character builds?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

An almost infinite number, and the different starting positions (not to mention unique challenges) mean you don't even have to rely on the RNG to have a playstyle.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

Definitely. There are a lot of items in the game, and so many combos of possible items to play around with.

avatar

You

Now

Why would you pick The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth over other twin-stick shooters?

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

It's solid fun, and due to the seed generation nature of the game, there are millions of possible runs to play so it's highly unlikely that you'll ever get the same run twice. Well, unless you purposely play the same seed twice, that is.

avatar

You

Now

How fair are loot drops in The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth?

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

Depends on the RNG. At some points you will have keys, cards, bombs, coins, whatnot - overflowing out of Isaac's orifices. At other points, you won't even have enough keys to unlock all the floors on a level. Overall, it kind of balances out.

avatar

You

Now

Is The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth scary?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

Nah, though again, the designs and story behind what's happening are very disturbing.

avatar

116 days ago

http://adf.ly/15608447/the-binding-of-isaac-afterbirth

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

Not at all.

avatar

You

Now

How gory is The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

Nothing spectacular, and the low-fi graphics mean it's far less in your face than you get from today's various big-budget offerings. It is gross, though, and if you stop and think about what's going on it's basically disgusting.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

I've never really noticed the gore, probably due to the retro-style graphics. As such, I don't really have a problem with it, but if you, like TotalBiscuit, did not really like the gory nature of the first Binding of Isaac, then you probably won't like it much better here.

avatar

You

Now

Why does The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth feel retro?

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

It feels retro more due to the graphics this time around (but the options menu has a choice for you to switch off the retro style and opt for a more rounder, 'real' style).

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

Some of the best art in the business, imo, particularly in the new Afterbirth expansion. It's not very high fidelity, but it's wondrous artistically.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

Very solid and well-done.

avatar

You

Now

How does The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth run on your PC?

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

Like a dream. The original version had issues due to being a flash game, but this should run at solid FPS on any random pair of microchips you happen to have lying around.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

Terrifically.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth?

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

On the whole, they are good. Some are better than the original while others, I feel the original sounds would have been more appropriate. Soundtrack-wise, it fits the new game's ambience, but I REALLY missed the old game's soundtrack.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers keep coming back to The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth

365
Ben Barrett (after 5 days 1 hour play time)

541 days ago

It's an exceptional second screen game (for when I'm watching television or a stream on my other monitor) and one that I find less frustrating than, for example, Hearthstone.

1
K3W3L (after 14 days 19 hours play time)

471 days ago

As mentioned in another category, the near-infinite replayability. I have to add, though, that the Daily Runs introduced in the Afterbirth DLC also provides another replayable aspect of it, as well as a leaderboard to compare with your friends.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions