The Division's closed beta cheating will be addressed, say Ubisoft

The Division

Following a weekend of closed beta-ing, The Division’s subreddit was flooded with posts about players cheating and exploiting their way through their time with Ubisoft’s upcoming tactical third-person role-player. Today, Ubisoft have said they are “fully committed” to ensuring fairness is installed prior to the game’s March 8 release.

Here's Matt's 10 reasons why The Division is the PC's next big RPG.

Apparently, exploits in The Division are possible due to the fact player stats are stored on its client side, where they’re open to manipulation. In turn, some players have treated themselves to unlimited health, ammo and medi kits, among other things. Naughty. 

In response, Ubisoft community manager xMiiSTY took to a blog post today to address the issue. “Over the last few days, we have seen an unprecedented level of interest for the Closed Beta,” says xMiiSTY. “We are looking into your feedback with care and we are thrilled by your passion and enthusiasm! 

“We are aware of the cheating issues in the closed beta on PC. The team is fully committed to providing solutions against this and a system will be in place to ensure a fair experience for players when the game is released on March 8."

As Ben discussed earlier, seeing so many hacks, cheats and exploits at this early stage puts Ubisoft well on the backfoot. There may be legitimate reasons as to why their anti-hacking measures have failed here, but the sooner the issue gets addressed the better.   

The Division is due for release on March 8, and its beta has been extended by an extra day - now set to finish on February 2 at 3am PST/ 6am EST/11am GMT.

Paladins
Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
Aever avatar
Aever Avatar
636
1 Year ago

lol, already? But ... "[...] exploits in The Division are possible due to the fact player stats are stored on its client side [...]" ... seriously, what the fuck?

2