Tropico 5 Review

Does Tropico 5 reward political manouvering?

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

I usually only play 1 type of government, but there are times where you will have to adapt if you want to stay "El Presidente".

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Shifting which political factions had ascendancy over the various time periods was the only time I felt that politics were involved at any meaningful level.

avatar

You

Now

Why does Tropico 5 feel retro?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

In concept, yes. In actuality no.

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

If by retro you mean "play like a game that always has the enemies respawn when you leave the screen", then no. If you say retro as in "includes an era in the colonial age", then yes.

avatar

You

Now

How funny is Tropico 5?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

The random chick who works at the Jolly Roger and Penultimo are the only characters I can recall. Oh, and saucey psychologist lady.

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

It does have it's quips and salty humor. There are easter eggs that not ever gamer will understand. The humor is painted in broad stripes, not everyone will get it.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Tropico 5 give you?

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

There is enough freedom in the game which creates various different "end game" states. The game itself doesn't come with tons of different buildings though.

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Not much. You are Locked onto rather stifling maps. But, I think the game gains quality through the focus.

avatar

You

Now

How hard is it to make money in Tropico 5?

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

Tropico can be extremely difficult to make money at times, yes. But if you have experience like me then staying in the black is just a matter of knowing what your doing. It is second nature to me on how to get money.

The easiest way to earn money WILL not sustain you for long. YOU will be forced to broaden your market.

avatar

You

Now

Can you get away with just rushing the enemy in Tropico 5?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

No enemy.

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

There is no enemy to engage in the game but you will have to defend. And I do recommend you rush your defensive buildings early. Don't go into debt though!

avatar

You

Now

Is it hard to build functional towns and cities in Tropico 5?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Some building chains are a little ambiguous. Decent steam guides are available.

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

With enough practice and diligence you will remember the chains and be able to diagnose the symptoms of your islands. For new players, they will struggle due to the vagueness of information. I have been playing this game since Tropico 3 was released. I have played every Tropico title.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Tropico 5 to explore?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Not very. Campaign has few maps which you revisit alternately each mission. Map editor exists yet is not something I would use.

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

This is not an rpg. Earlier missions/eras do come with a fog over your island. You will have to pay for your soldiers to explore in the fog.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Tropico 5?

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

It is more humorous then realistic. The graphics are reality based but the characters feel like they are out of a comic book.

avatar

You

Now

Have you come up with any clever strategies in Tropico 5?

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

Yes, I always go for the method that earns me voters because I have a military. I fund my military with tourism.

Another method is to forgo the military (you will still need defenses though) and build industry and tons of docks, then trade your goods to other countries. You will also have to build embassies and do diplomatic missions, to unlock better trades. There is a DLC which adds a nuclear submarine. If you build it then you unlock all trades as long as you can pay to have your submarine working.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Tropico 5 let you develop your character?

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

In Tropico, you are a family. During the gameplay quests will appear and you will have the choice of adding a family member. The more "slush money" you accumulate (swiss bank account), the easier it is to upgrade your family members. There are plenty of perks to choose from but don't expect a ton of varied choices.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Tropico 5 sale?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Sale

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

I actually pre-ordered the game. It is not that expensive to me. If you want to play it, buy it with all the DLC. If you aren't in a hurry, I do recommend you buy it if you see it on sale.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Tropico 5?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Nothing spectacular.

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

They look good to me, but not everyone will like it though.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Tropico 5?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Catchy latino tunes. Very good.

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

They are above par.

avatar

You

Now

How does Tropico 5 run on your PC?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Great

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

I think it has only crashed once or twice. It has problems tabbing out to desktop. Other than that I can play the game for 8 hours straight and not worry about it messing up.

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Tropico 5?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

n/a

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Linux port of Tropico 5?

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

n/a

avatar

You

Now

How active is the multiplayer community for Tropico 5?

89
Daniel Mtanous - USA (after 4 days 9 hours play time)

220 days ago

At release it was really buggy but popular. I stopped playing it online due to the issues.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers keep coming back to Tropico 5

3368
Shriven (after 5 days 22 hours play time)

227 days ago

Its a game you can play while watching TV.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions